Sarné

  • Sudáfrica
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Amigos (4)

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    South Africa
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi there! :)

    I am Sarné from South Africa. I am a hard-working, cheerful, vibrant person with a never-ending sense of adventure. I am very keen on adventuring all adventures!

    I decided to quit my 6 am to 6 pm job in construction to pursue the dream which has always been written in my heart. Since a very young age, I have had a yearning to explore, travel and experience cultures from all over the world, and I have decided - if not now, when? It is time to pursue what makes me happy;

    Exploring. Travelling. Hiking. Meeting new people. Experiencing new things.
    And my one and only objective in life is to simply just be happy! :)

    Throughout my 26 years of life, I have come to understand that happiness looks different from person to person. Happiness can be giving a maid of honour speech at your best friends wedding, it can be your two Scottish Terriers play fighting on your green green lawn, it can be 15mm of rain after a 6-year drought on your farm in the Karoo, it can be the gift of a pair of old second-hand sneakers to someone who doesn't have shoes, it can be the publication of your honours thesis in an academic journal, it can even be working a 6 am to 6 pm job.

    To me, happiness is meeting all of these people and learning why these specific things bring them happiness; and how I could possibly add to their happiness. That, and spending time alone while exploring nature; hiking 18km just to see a dried-up waterfall, listening to the birds sing and meeting my Creator amidst the pristine wilderness while hearing nothing but nature. Absolute bliss!

    I am looking forward to spending time with new people, in new countries and getting to know their cultures and what makes them happy! :D

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Autostop
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Arquitectura
    Arte y diseño
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Vida en una granja
    Hostelería/turismo

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Práctica de idiomas
    Jardinería
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I attended university and finished off with a few Bachelor degrees which might be of benefit to my hosts. I am always happy to utilize my knowledge and assist where I can. I obtained the following degrees:
    - BSc Geography and Environmental Science
    - BSc Honours in Soil Science
    - BSc Honours in Environmental Science

    Besides the report writing, data analysis and just general skills and knowledge obtained at university I also have a broad spectrum of other relevant skills.
    - I am a good bartender and an even better waitress.
    - I am great with physical labour.
    - I love a good DIY project. During the start of lockdown my mom and I renovated the whole laundry room; we removed old tiles and then plastered the walls before painting them.
    - I enjoy gardening and other crop related farming activities.
    - I thoroughly enjoy working with animals, especially in a farming perspective.
    - I am good with people, and yes, I can sometimes talk a lot.
    - I love baking. Baking cakes, cupcakes, cookies, all sweet things. I love it!
    - My mom has also taught me how to cook a proper South African meal. Therefore, I am good at cooking. Not great, but we won't go hungry!

    I am an extremely fast learner, and keen on learning new skills and even applying some older skills.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Afrikaans: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I have completed a course in Teaching English as a Foreign Language. Therefore, I am able to teach English as a language to people interested in learning. I am also always interested in learning new languages.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    26

  • Algo más...

    At my first workaway host, I learnt some new skills. Maintenance work on outdoor wood for wooden fences. Clearing an area to make gardens, a fire pit and a lovely seating area. I also used my organizational and cleaning skills on rainy days.

    At my second workaway host, I learnt a great deal about grooming horses, saddling and de-saddling them and assisting with horse outrides.

    I have worked respectively as a Tutor, Bartender, Waitress, Soil Scientist and Environmental Officer in the past;
    As a Tutor for Mathematics for primary school students and as a Tutor for many Modules at varsity for younger students.
    As a Bartender in one of Bloemfontein's hottest clubs when I was still a university student.
    As a Waitress several times, at several different restaurants. I always gravitate back toward waitressing as it is one of the best occupations - it is energetic, pressure-driven and I get to work with people.
    As a Soil Scientist, I mainly made recommendations to farmers regarding their crops and soil health.
    As an Environmental Officer, I worked for a Civil Construction contractor based on a Platinum Mine. There, I had to conduct daily audits on-site (underground and on the surface) regarding environmental and health and safety compliance.

    I completed courses on Health and Safety in the workplace. Therefore I have a general knowledge regarding Incident and Accident Investigations, Hazard Identification and Risk Assessments, as well as Legal Liability. I have great respect for the law and any other set of rules.

    I thoroughly enjoy hiking and camping off the grid. This can include living off the land as well.

    I have a snow Bengal cat, which I would love to bring with me on my adventures. Still, unfortunately, he is not trained well enough yet for Workaway adventures. He is also the closest I have to a child. Yes, I am a proud cat-mom to Benjamin Bezuidenhout! :)
    PS. You can follow him on insta!

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Fotos de competición

Comentarios