Sarah

  • Irlanda
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Mi próximo destino:

    Ireland - Desde Abr 2021 Hasta Dic 2023
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi,

    I have been on a variety of farms in Ireland through WWOOF, Workaway and HelpX over the last fourteen months, and one in England just before Christmas. If I’d started looking for these kinds of experiences ten years ago, I’d probably have set up my own little learning farm by now. It’ll happen one day. That’s the dream:)

    I recently got a two week crash course in environmental awareness at COP26, where I attended about thirty free events and took part in my first protest (definitely not my last): I walked with Extinction Rebellion, whose conviction, drumming bands and sea of pointed flags made me feel a part of something very powerful.

    Last August, I hiked approximately 200km of the Cork end of the Wild Atlantic Way. I sprained my ankle as the weather was getting a bit hostile in September. I look forward to getting back to it in May '22. Call me a fair-weather camper! It has been amazing to see such a beautiful part of Ireland from the side of the road and stay in lots of campsites - feet firmly on the ground at all times:)

    I love physical work, as long as nobody is rushing me. I love animals, especially dogs, though cows come a close second. I could watch the birds all day too.

    I did an online journalism diploma last year, while milking cows in Kerry. I might start pitching freelance articles to the media outlets I'm a fan of someday, but I've yet to come up with anything that exciting!

    I don't use social media as I prefer to get my information, fun and comfort from conversation and books. I do watch TV and Netflix though, and love listening to Today FM in the mornings.

    I am a proud member of the Dublin Food Co-op which was founded by some hardy, socially-conscious vegetarians in the 1980s. I attend the online discussion group every Saturday morning, where we talk about something we have all read during the week, on subjects like worker-friendly cities, the Green New Deal and food sovereignty. It's really broadening my horizons.

    I have worked in junior jobs all my life, in fifteen different industries, so I get the importance of co-operation, following instructions, conscientiousness and all work being valuable.

    How to go as lightly on the Earth as we can, that is the question.

    I’m learning a lot from the people on these networks, thank you for the education:)

    Best wishes,

    Sarah

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Navegar / barcos
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Animales
    Escritura
    Libros
    Música
    Cocina y alimentación
    Cultura
    Eventos y sociedad
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Mantenimiento general

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I am physically able and reasonably fit. I did a few years of triathlon in 2015-2017, so I'd call myself fairly physical.
    I can follow instructions especially when I understand the purpose of the job. I am not afraid to spend hours on my knees weeding or similar. I don't usually get aches and pains the next day after a big job!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Edad

    43

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial
      Standard vegetarian. I eat eggs and dairy, I don't eat fish.

Comentarios


Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios