Matt

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

  • Descripción

    South African born and bred (Johannesburg) but moved to the UK about 16 years ago in order to satisfy my love of travel and experience all that the world has to offer. I love learning about other cultures and seeing new places. I have travelled extensively over the past 10 years especially and have visited some of the world's most beautiful places.

    My full-time job is caregiving to a gentleman with a spinal injury (paraplegic) and I work on a 3 weeks on 3 weeks off basis. During my 3 weeks off I either travel to new places for a holiday or volunteer in various locations. So far I have volunteered at a yoga retreat centre in Hawai'i, a Hare Krishna temple in central France, a Buddhist retreat centre in the UK, at private homes in Wales and Cumbria and also in Poland teaching English (currently studying TEFL). Thanks to volunteering I have experience in kitchen assistance, cooking, mowing lawns, weeding, planting, painting, hedging and walking and feeding animals of various kinds.

    I am passionate about yoga and have qualified as a yoga teacher in India. I practice yoga and meditation regularly. I also have excellent knowledge of nutrition and exercise prescription having worked as a personal trainer early on in my adult life. I love being outdoors and am happiest in natural surroundings. I am an animal lover (especially dogs!) and also very interested in living off-grid. I am an administrator for the Self-Realization Fellowship's Lay Disciple Community's Facebook page and usually report my key learnings about off-grid living back to them.

  • Intereses

    Naturaleza
    Deportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Actividades al aire libre
    Trabajo de caridad
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Libros
    Astronomía
    Vegetariano o vegano
    Política / justicia social
    Cultura
    Autodesarrollo
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Jardinería
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Enseñanza

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Compañía para ancianos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I have volunteered at a Hare Krishna community in central France, a Buddhist retreat centre in the UK, a treehouse community in a Costa Rican rainforest, a yoga retreat in Ibiza and Hawai'i and assisted a elderly couple in Wales. During my time as a volunteer I have cooked, cleaned, taught yoga, painted, mowed lawns, planted plants, pulled weeds, drilled holes, and filled holes.

    I have an excellent grasp of the English language but can also speak a small amount of Afrikaans. I am very well educated, having attended one of South Africa's finest boarding schools and have a loving family who have taught me decency and respect.

    I currently manage the Facebook page for the Self-Realization Fellowship's Lay Disciple Intentional Community who are interested in building communities around the world based on Paramahansa Yogananda's teachings so I am interested in learning what I can from other communities and passing that information on in order to help make the dream a reality.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I can help with learning English.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    44

  • Algo más...

    I can cook a mean red lentil dal!

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Not that I know of.

    • Dieta especial
      Vegetarian

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios