Mischa

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (4)

Explorer
Top Workawayer
Facebook verified

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Actividades que me interesan:

    Art
    Animals
    Veg cooking
    Teaching
    Music
    Eco projects
    NGO’s

    Mi próximo destino:

    Montenegro
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Once again, so much has changed since I first joined this community many years ago. We have some updates!

    We’re back in Croatia now. After spending a solid year backpacking Europe we fell for Croatia, so after leaving our boat home in the UK, we packed and set sail once more, relocating to Split city.

    I am still running my Enviromental NGO back home, only remotely now, and my hours have ebbed and flowed this year, I’m still in the ebb but still facilitating the redistribution of unsold supermarket and farm food, saving it from going to waste and making sure we fight hunger at the same time. I'm also writing a memoir, I have a busy poetry page online and I paint and sing with the accompaniment of an old 6 string. However! More exciting than this, is how I seem to have stumbled into my previous occupation of sustainable interiors; economically decorating and producing art and design concepts for spaces that need some soul brought into the mix.

    So often we see apartments either with decor so dated it’s a trip back into ancient times, or so modern it’s as if IKEA exploded inside. I love a bit of IKEA, but not everything needs to be thrown away and replaced with often less durable options with far less character.

    My work before setting up my NGO, was to find ways of bringing life to a property or even an old piece of furniture, without the cost of replacement. This stops so much going to landfill —tiles, cabinets and furniture can be given a second life, with less cost to owners who benefit most from spaces far more attractive to their target market during the tourist season. I’ve included some example pictures along with my most recent projects in renovation/decoration of interiors for you to see.

    Aside of this, we are well versed in the workaway community. We come well reviewed and we’ve been so lucky with those we’ve stayed with during our year of travel, making life long friends along the way.

    If you’re not already bored (I do waffle!), I’ll go on to say that while my skills are in project development, logistics and planning as I’ve been a Senior Director for the best part of a decade, I’m am at heart, a creative soul, so I can design space, paint murals, artworks, interiors, exteriors —basically, if you stand still for too long I might paint you!

    Jokes aside, I also cook humble vegetarian street food. I have cooked surplus food in my own pop up cafe in the UK which won several awards, and also in a refugee centre in France through this platform and some large food festivals.

    I clean to a high standard, often while singing (I was a singer in a band for years), I can teach English to a high level, and play a little guitar, ukulele or piano when I get the time. I love outdoors, too! Love garnering and have some experience with basic permaculture.

    I travel with my teenager, who is fit young and able with a talent for painting also. He speaks Croatian as a second language. He is a speed cuber (see netflix) and holds internationally recognised speeds.. he does not get this from me! He is also studying various courses online and sometimes needs a WiFi connection, but not in the summer months. He is flexible and otherwise able to contribute, which is important for me as a home educator —to teach him skills and a good work/community ethic. He’s been highly reviewed already but his skills have developed considerably since then as he’s much older and more able. He’s very responsible, conscientious and fun to be around. He can cook a mean scrambled egg (the best yet!), clean well, do laundry and gardening. He is a great den builder, and has great creative ideas and energy to boot. He’s a fantastic conversationalist and people tell me everywhere we go, he’s not like other kids; he’s very grounded, compassionate, engaged and switched on. I’m very lucky to be his mum!

    Then there’s the dog, dearest Ayda. She’s wonderful. She’s getting old and lazy too. Well reviewed. A great traveller and no bother at all.

    We’re looking now for a community to maybe get stuck into or a family we can help; people we can connect with. Land we can help develop, projects we can help organise or space I can make beautiful!

    We wish to live a sustainable and community filled life. We’re looking for genuine friendship with a collective purpose, and ways we can offer/exchange skills and meaningful time. We don’t subscribe to the status quo on most things. The ‘normal’ societal expectations are abstract to our way of thinking, and indeed our aspirations. I keep my foot in the door of that world, as I have to pay bills like most, and put food on the table, but I’ve chosen work that’s fulfilling and sustainable/ethical so I can remain a version of myself I can recognise and want to be around. Obviously, we aren't the average workawayer --we require more space than lone travellers, and seek people who appreciate and love animals, but we don’t need host payment (some offer it) or much food as we like to buy a lot ourselves, and we're ready to apply our energy to our next adventure beginning of JUNE! So not long at all ☺️ We hope to meet some amazing souls on this new chapter!

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Navegar / barcos
    Yoga / bienestar
    Actividades al aire libre
    Trabajo de caridad
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Arte y diseño
    Dibujo y pintura
    Escritura
    Libros
    Música
    Blogging
    Cocina y alimentación
    Vegetariano o vegano
    Política / justicia social
    Historia

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Práctica de idiomas

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Enseñanza

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Cooking
    Animal care
    Cleaning
    Hosting
    Decorating
    Art/Painting
    Music/Guitar and Singing
    Gardening
    Organising
    Content Creation
    Networking
    Blogging
    Teaching

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Croatian: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    I'm happy to offer language practice. I'm confident with more formal teaching, especially with grammar but happy to teach informal conversational methods. My son speaks excellent English, and also speaks Croatian.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    36

  • Algo más...

    I've spent a number of years fighting food waste and hunger, and created recycling projects for over 10 years now, but my practical skills are much broader; there's really not many things I wouldn't turn my hand to.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      Vegetarian, but will cook meat for others and I feed my dog chicken regularly, so I can handle meat.

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios