Matthew

  • Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Explorer
Top Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Mi próximo destino:

    Nepal
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi, im Matt, 45 year old, mature, responsible and trustworthy, i enjoy the simple life and like to be in the peace and quiet mostly ;) . Im a long term traveller....over 6 years and counting...in a “previous life “ i was running family owned truck/ large vehicle repair business in the UK for almost 20 years, currently returned to the UK due to Covid and working for the NHS as a healthcare assistant in hospital, i have extensive experience in mechanical repairs to Diesel engines including trucks,plant etc also good welding/ metalwork/ vehicle electrical/ general repairs etc. happy to assist in various repairs and practical tasks mechanical or otherwise. Have good driving skills in truck,plant and some machinery. I'm a country type, originally from a rural area in West Sussex, England so am quite happy doing outdoor/ manual/farm tasks. I've really signed up for workaway to try and engage with local people and learn more about their respective cultures and traditions which is a primary reason for my global travels which is to experience different countries and people, if I can also help people along the way then all the better :) my recent adventures have been climbing in Nepal and Himalayas, summiting Ama Dablam in November 2018 was a dream climb for me before ive also climbed in the Andes including Aconcagua in Argentina, Cotopaxi volcanoe in Ecuador and hiking is also a favourite pastime ive walked the Te Araroa walking trail 3000km the length of New Zealand, Larapinta trail and other long trails around Australia and Tasmania and extensively around Nepal himalaya, most recently in 2019 i walked through the ‘stans of central Asia which was a very rewarding and enriching journey, i feel truly lucky to experience such beautiful places and people, it continues to be an amazing journey on which I've done everything from fixing vehicles, water pumps, generators, gardening, general repairs, construction, carpentry, bamboo construction,cleaning and shearing alpacas! I look forward to helping and meeting more people on my travels.
    I volunteer via Helpx ( another volunteering site..i can supply details for reference). Ive done a very wide range of things on my travels from construction work, driving machines and trucks/ loaders, fixed lots of mechanical stuff from engine powered water pumps, chainsaws and mowers, cars/ machinery etc to washing dishes, helped in kitchens, served tables in a restaurant, gardening, cleaning etc etc. im not fussy what i do and always keen to learn new skills. We never stop learning :) i can work on my own initiative and dont need people to " hold my hand" ;)

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Autostop
    Deportes de aventura
    Fitness
    Yoga / bienestar
    Ciclismo
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Dibujo y pintura
    Música
    Cocina y alimentación
    Vegetariano o vegano
    Cultura
    Historia
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Trabajo de caridad

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Mantenimiento general
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Wide range of practical skills, i can drive and operate most vehicles snd machinery, can fix and repair most things! Im a diesel mechanic by trade. Im happy to help out with construction work, metalwork, farming, gardening, hotel kitchen and room/ house keeping work.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Edad

    45

  • Nacionalidad

    British

  • Algo más...

    Im always open to new experiences and would like to share my knowledge and hopefully learn something new from my hosts. Ive used the helpx website for volunteering in the past and can supply details and references, im not just another backpacker thatll waste your time or just looking for a free ride, i enjoy to help genuine people and causes.
    I believe life is a real gift and we should embrace every day, life should be enjoyed and not endured :)

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      Vegetarian

Comentarios



Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios