Josh

Desde: Estados Unidos

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    España

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    01/01/2017 - 01/01/2084

  • number of facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    2513

  • Medallas

    Top Workawayer
    Explorer
    Facebook verified

  • Mi situación

    viajando

  • El perfil está conectado a

  • Descripción

    Hello workaway friends, I'm currently on the island of La Palma where I was fortunate to spend the whole of lockdown.
    I really enjoyed this time and learned a lot. Most important was that no matter if it's a new tool to work with or new ingredients for cooking just try it. The worst that can happen is you learn to do it better next time.

    My girlfriend Mira recently joined me and we are looking for a project that focuses on a permaculture lifestyle where we can learn some more, work with our hands, crafting or building, animals and maybe even cheese making. For us, volunteering is a way of life. We aren't looking for a free holiday.

    My name is Josh from the US and I have been traveling since the fall of 2016. For as long as I can remember I have been working in restaurants and bars and I realized I was missing out on what the world had to offer. So, I decided to see as much of as I could. I've just been back in the states for a few months of 2019 spending time with family, friends and working to travel. Sometimes I'm traveling alone and others with my girlfriend Mira. It is really amazing to me how much a short time traveling can change what's important to someone.
    I've been using workaway for the 3 years and it's an amazing way to travel. From organic farms and earthbuilding projects, off grid locations and guesthouses/hostels, I enjoyed them all. My goal is to be more involved in learning about local ways of life, maybe learning how to make cheese or build a self sustaining water system, whatever it may be I know I'm excited to do it. At the moment I'm in the process of obtaining my citizenship in Italy. This leads to my ultimate goal of opening a small project ( permaculture, cafe, homestay) somewhere where it's warm for at least 8 months out of the year. I want to collect as much information and knowledge in my travels to be able to do exactly this. I have no schedule to keep, no apartment waiting for me at home and I am eager to learn just about anything. I enjoy working with my hands, I'm happy to cook for small or larger groups, I've even picked up some decent recipes from people around the world. In my freetime I enjoy the outdoors. Camping, hiking, music and food, on the coast or in the mountains, it doesn't really matter. It's super nice to find a home away from home, a place where you can call your workaway a family, to share some stories and some wine, to dive deep into different cultures. To cook and laugh and adventure together, this is the kind of place I want to be in.

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Vida en una granja
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Basic carpentry or crafting skills, painting, masonry, concrete, with a good eye to learn quickly, a new skill and a good ear to listen to instructions. Anything with animals.
    Guest services, entertaining, bartending cooking, tour guide and organizing events are all things I enjoy too.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    German: Intermedio

  • Edad

    36

  • Nacionalidad

    American

  • Algo más...

    References from hosts available

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      No

    • Dieta especial
      No

Fotos

Comentarios