Johan

Desde: Holanda

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Holanda

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    01/08/2021 - 01/08/2022

  • Medallas

    Explorer

  • Mi situación

    en casa

  • Descripción

    Hello there. Lovely people of the world!
    How are you? In this message's I’ll do my best to introduce ourselves to you.

    WHO
    We are Johan(40) and Kyan(8) from The Netherlands.

    Keywords, just a few: Eco-living, Sustainable Nomad, Parent, Travelling, Minimalist, Home-schooling, Freedom, Natural Health, Vegan, Together.

    Value's: Neatly, Polite, Kind, Enthusiastic, Clean, Hardworking, Loving, Sharing, Honest.

    WHY
    I signed up with WorkAway to contribute to the world. Experiencing new cultures, habits and beliefs in a non-tourist way. Having the luxury to meet new people to share with en learn from.
    In my opinion the best way to experience is to do what locals do. So this is why I want to connect to people and help them where I can.

    The different ways people live their lives and the reasons they do or don’t are very interesting. What really does make you feel happy and alive? This question has many answers and one of them is to experience freedom, be of significance and have some adventure. Being generous and kind, share and contribute makes life worth living. I believe nature & earth provides everything we humans need to life.

    HOW
    I’m pretty flexible and have travelled in all different way’s. Campervan, car, airplane, boat and by foot. Going with the flow while enjoying the good things the world has to offer. Continually working on myself and my relationships the whole journey is quite an experience. This is an understatement.

    About 3 years ago me and my family started with our old-timer Mercedes truck from 1989. I stripped the whole truck, and did rebuild the complete thing from scratch. After finding out Van Life wasn’t for now we sold the truck and became backpackers with our tent.

    WHAT
    I get the most energy out of being outside in nature, when I’m renovating or building something, taking care of the garden or just having a nice chat. Finding myself in nature always gives me a new boost of energy.
    I love to grow our own herbs, fruits, vegetables and other eatable plants. Since I’ve been traveling it’s been a big relieve to put my hands in the soil en help people with their gardens or plots. Often gardening is for me a form of mediation.

    FOOD
    I follow a Vegan diet without gluten. This means I mainly eat fruits for lunch. Dinner usually consists of salads and different kinds of vegetables. I try to eat as much RAW as I feel comfortable with. So chickpeas or rice is sometimes part of my diet. I love to "cook" and be creative with food. My experience is that my eating habits can cause some uncertainty with my hosts. Nothing to worry, I normally make my own food with the ingredients that are provided.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Deportes de invierno
    Yoga / bienestar
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Idiomas
    Arquitectura
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Música
    Tecnología
    Cocina y alimentación
    Vegetariano o vegano
    Cultura

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos ecológicos

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I worked as an engineer at a contractor for 11 years and get great pleasure out of fixing things. With two right hands I installed the kitchen in our former house and renovated the bathroom (with help). Woodwork is my passion. As an schooled carpenter I know my way in this subject. I single-handed converted a 30year old truck into a very luxurious home. My speciality is renovating and wood. So joinery and carpentry. But if you need a technical drawing this can be arranged.

    My Studies: MBO Engineering (Post - Secondary Vocational Education), HBO Engineering -unfinished- (Higher Vocational Education)
    Divers licence: B,C,T (Car, Truck, Tractor)

    KYAN
    Kyan is a wonderful open-minded kid. He is 8 years old and speaks Dutch, English and German. He is learning French and Spanish. He can play with many children and always loves to connect. He is very outgoing, adventurous and doesn't have many fears. He loves cat's and other small animals. He went to a democratic school for a while and last year he has learned as we go. He can ride a bike, ski, run, climb and teach you how to make healthy salads. He can prepare his own food and has an unique way of making people happy.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

  • Edad

    40

  • Algo más...

    I was an engineer/project manager in a renovation company for 11 years.

    We went backpacking in Toledo Belize in 2012 and walked bare foot in the dark through the rain, no worries about tarantulas, snakes and mosquito’s. Who does that in the rainy season?

    We went biking around the coast line of the Netherlands in 2015 for 2 weeks with a 2-year old and our tent on the back. You can imagine nothing was dry after 3 days of rain and we bought Kyan a rain-suit.

    We started with our Eco village project in The Netherlands from 2016. After 4 years it wasn't functioning yet. Sometimes eco-sustainable living is difficult for authorities.

    We went skiing with our self-build old-timer Van and slept "in the snow" in 2019. While skiing during the day. After a month on several mountaintops we came down Alpe d'Huez and the differential broke. The truck was transported to a garage back in the Netherlands. There we stood with only a bag of some underwear, a phone and food in our hands. The backpacking trip back had begun :-).

    In spring 2019 we lived 3 weeks without running water in the hot sun of Andalucía. The only luxury was our own composting toilet and tent. Luckily our hosts had solar panels and satellite internet.

    I did WorkAway in Switzerland in August and September 2020. I made a very nice chicken hotel .

    From November until February we stayed with a lovely German family in Southern Portugal. I helped with rearranging the garage and making a big cabinet with workbench.

    In February 2021 we helped a nice lady out in Vera with maintenance on her Eco Campsite.

    Now I’m finding a new place to share and grow. On and off with my son. He will be with me 50% of the time.

    To keep track of the projects I’m proud of, I made a couple of video’s. They are in my LinkedIn account: https://www.linkedin.com/in/johan-gijsbers-4624661a6
    Please feel free to watch them and get to know me a little bit better.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Johan: Gluten,Peanuts,Walnuts / Kyan: Gluten, Animal Products (Except Honey)

    • Dieta especial
      We have a Vegan diet (mainly Fruits & Vegetables). I don't mind getting my own food. I don't mind if you eat different neither. As long as we can share time while eating, I'm happy.

Fotos

Comentarios