Kate & Julia

  • Estados Unidos
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer
Explorer

Información de perfil

  • Nuestra situación

    viajando

  • Descripción

    Hello! We are a queer American couple who are new to Workaway, though are both experienced travelers, especially Kate. Julia also has experience with Couchsurfing.

    Kate is a documentary filmmaker and Julia works in city government on website and process improvement. We are both ready to put this work down and explore career shifts. We also live in Austin, TX but are ready to move elsewhere and put down roots in a land-based community. We are taking this next year to participate in, learn from, and contribute to different communities, and are excited to explore ways we show-up in these spaces. We are looking for spaces where we can experiment with alternative ways of living and discover what brings us joy and what we each excel at. Additionally, we're interested in doing interior and exterior design and event production. Julia would like to explore her creativity and reconnect with a more hands-on style of creation, like when she was an industrial design student working in the woodshop, creating sculptures or functional pieces out of recycled materials, painting, building/making structures, etc.

    We are also ready to chip in on other projects and tasks. We are hard, diligent workers who are resourceful and take initiative. There is always some aspect of personal growth and healing that we're each working on. We're both generalists who pick skills up quickly and know a little about a lot of things. We are activists on a range of intersecting issues that are very important to us.

    Beyond this, we are fun and playful! We love to host and attend theme parties and creative events that transport people to inspiring, imaginative, and rejuvenating places. We dance a lot. We love being around people.

    Covid: Living in such a high-risk country, we are accustomed to sharing and advocating for our Covid precautions, needs, and boundaries, as well as respecting others’. We’d like to ask a few Covid-related questions and get a sense of where folks are at when the time comes.

  • Intereses

    Montaña
    Playa
    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Navegar / barcos
    Deportes de aventura
    Deportes acuáticos
    Deportes de equipo
    Deportes de invierno
    Baile
    Actividades al aire libre
    Trabajo de caridad
    Jardinería
    Carpintería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Idiomas
    Arte y diseño
    Artes escénicas
    Dibujo y pintura

    mostrar más
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que queremos compartir o aprender

    Nos interesa:  

    Vida en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Práctica de idiomas

    Podemos enseñar:  

    Proyectos artísticos
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Kate
    -Spanish: conversational, can read, and write, depending on the topic
    -interpersonal skills, listening, communication, writing, facilitation, calm energy, holding space, hospitality, small talk and deep talk
    -creating ceremony
    -musical, creating and curating
    -creating events, experiences, environments, ambiance
    -getting a dance party started
    -generating ideas, alternatives, problem-solving
    -entrepreneurial
    -pretty decent with hair clippers
    -artistic
    -athletic
    -teaching

    Julia
    - Spanish: beginner, with an aptitude for picking up languages. Plus conversational Italian
    - handy with figuring out how things work, fixing things, general household handiness
    - broad swath of basic arts and crafts skills, 2D and 3D, including sewing and wood/metal shop skills
    - facilitation and teaching, primarily around idea generation, problem solving, collaboration, divergence and convergence, prototyping, qualitative research. Also doing those things personally
    - web and physical object design & creation (can contribute to web/digital stuff but wanting to largely take a break from that)
    - interpersonal skills, verbal communication
    - helping people feel comfortable being and expressing themselves and trying new things
    - dancing and getting a dance party started
    - improv and improv-based games
    - energizing people
    - meditation
    - aptitude for physical wellness: fitness, basic massage and muscular healing, first aid (mom's a physical therapist)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio
    Italiano: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Este workawayer ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro. Ponte en contacto con él directamente para hablar sobre ello.

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    33 & 32

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Kate's allergic to eggplant (can pick around it)

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios



Amigos

Comentarios