Ben

Desde: Gran Bretaña

  • ...

    Tipo de cuenta

    Cuenta individual

  • ...

    Viajar a

    Portugal

  • ...

    Fechas de viaje

    05/02/2020 - 26/02/2020

  • Medallas

    Explorer

  • Descripción

    Hello good people!
    I'm a relaxed, hardworking, multiskilled stone Mason and drystone waller from the Orkney islands off the north coast of Scotland. My parents have a restaurant and I have always enjoyed cooking and was trained in knife work from a young age and I suppose that left me a bit of a 'foody' (don't like the word), although I also got packed off to work on a farm during my childhood summers. I used to be strictly raw vegan, and whilst getting back there is a goal, atm I'm just as vegetarian as circumstances allow.
    My interested include eastern philosophy although I don't follow any particular branch, I love books and audio books are possibly a vice of mine.. I enjoy meditation, yoga, chess, permaculture, conversation and I suppose a big part of why I'm doing this in my late thirtys is to make mindfulness more possible in a larger proportion of my life.
    I've Been in portugal for 5 weeks at time of writing (12/10/19) helping a friend with the beginings of a large permaculture projest in 7 hectres of forest untouched for thirty years, so i'm now getting acostumed to hard work in Mediterranean heat. It would of been great to stay here but my good friend has some father son time to enjoy before shutting shop and wintering in the French alps.
    Outwards of working the land, my skills of use are obviously my stone masonry which I am most passionate about the extremely traditional aspects of, i.e. lime mortars, drystone and shist construction and pre-machinery methods of quarrying stone. That said I'm fully trained in cement. So laying block, brickwork and plastering both exterior and interior also fall into my purview, as well as driving tractors, diggers and telescopic fork lifts.
    I look forward to meeting lots of interesting people and experiencing lots of wonderful places during my time spent on workaway.
    Kind regards,
    Ben

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Niñera / cuidado de niños
    Cuidado de ancianos
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Otra
    Ayuda en proyecto ecológico
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Turismo
    Ayuda de caridad
    Ayuda con idiomas
    Projecto artístico
    Enseñar

  • Que habilidades tienes?

    As mentioned above, but I'm pretty good at turning my hand to anything that doesn't involve alot of wrighting. I did have a spoken word show at the Edinburgh festival, did lots of gigs around Edinburgh, was poet in residence for a youth arts charity and even gave a lecture at Edinburgh uni, although that was an amalgamation of stone masonry, poetry and and social reform.. I try not to mention poetry unless asked, as it's much like the truth, people like the idea of it, yet few truly want to hear it..

  • Idiomas hablados

    French: Fluido
    Portuguese: Principiante

  • Edad

    39

  • Algo más...

    I'm fun, honest and whilst meditation and yoga form a part of my life I'm happy to discuss with like minded people, I'm no rainbow natzi if it's not your jazz..

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      Only nuts, traces are not a problem no anaphactic shock.plus I've nearly stopped smoking..

    • Dieta especial
      I like to try and eat vegetarian but I'm not strict as yet. Plus if I've been building stone I do crave large amounts of protein.which unfortunately is usually meat.

Fotos

Comentarios