Axel

  • Alemania
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Explorer
Good Workawayer

Amigos (2)

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    Germany - Desde Mar 2022 Hasta Dic 2022
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hello,
    my name is Axel and I am 56 years old and from Germany. I am most likely not the typical workawayer, looking for short-term fun activities in beautiful locations or party towns. Since I am quite concerned about the ecology of the planet and how we treat this earth and our fellow humans, my primary interest is to help those of you who are trying to revert the planet back to its natural pristine beauty and alleviate the problems we now increasingly face in regards to ecological destruction, environmental pollution, food and water shortages, sustainable energy use, and the like.


    In particular I am looking for places that value nature and are trying their best to heal and preserve the planet by taking care of their immediate natural surroundings and trying to establish a balanced life in tune with nature and the living communities located there. This could be an ecological project (lodge, hostel, farm, or similar) involved in eco-tourism, reforestation, natural building, permaculture, food and water security, or other ways of sustainable living. I am also very interested in helping at hostels in beautiful natural surroundings (beaches, national parks, etc.) to promote a close-to-nature lifestyle and show people that there is another way to live than the normal 9-5 urban grind.


    For the past 7 years, I traveled extensively throughout Northern and Central America, and Europe, getting involved in many of the activities mentioned above, including learning about permaculture, sustainable earth bag building, gardening, aquaponics, soil production, composting, waste treatment, etc. With my background in plant biology I am also interested in plant breeding and seed production, micropropagation, greenhouse maintenance, hydroponics, and plant production in general. I also have some skills in IT and can help with computer work, setting up websites, blogs and social media presence.


    I have now 7 years of experience as a workawayer (and also as a host) in various places in Costa Rica (which I have visited at least a dozend times during the past 15 years) and Guatemala helping out on ecological farms and in backpacker hostels where I did check-ins, handled the bookings and payments online and offline, and cared about the guests and their questions. I enjoyed the hostel work and the great company from people all over the world so much that I was considering to open my own hostel somewhere in a tropical location, but it - so far - ha never worked out :-)

    I myself cannot cook but I am willing to help someone who can. However, I am happy to clean the dishes (which is meditative for me) and tidy up the space after the meals. I love it clean and tidy. When it comes to diet I do like fresh foods and a variety of fruits and greens. I am not a vegetarian or vegan (even though I can live vegetarian or vegan for months) but I also enjoy cheese or eggs once in a while and even an occasional bite of meat if I know how it was raised and prepared (don't need to eat meat though).


    I left my 9-5 life (used to be a biology Professor with appointments in Germany, Costa Rica, and the USA - where I lived for nearly 10 years) about 7 years ago by choice and sailed the Mediterranean Seas for 5 years nonstop on my own classic sailboat, which I recently sold. Then I roamed around in a CamperVan for a year and a half, travelling from Germany to Greece, Italy, Spain, Portugal and Sweden. Now I am back in Germany and on to a new adventure on land where I would love to get my hands dirty. I do enjoy a beer or glass of wine after work is done in the evenings to relax, but I never get drunk or party all night long. I also enjoy my solitude in tranquil and relaxing surroundings, preferably in nature. I love meditating and feeling the energy of people and places, hang out at a beach or river bank by myself, and watch the birds or monkeys.


    I speak english (and of course german) and understand some french and spanish and a bit of italian too. But I cannot as yet sustain a conversation in french, spanish, or italian. I'd love to get my hands dirty in the garden or chop wood (especially during the colder months) as I enjoy some bodily exercise outdoors to stay healthy and in good shape. I can help with basic maintenance tasks around the house (plumbing and electric, which I learned on the boat), or do painting (which I did as a student), varnishing and wood finishing (which I did on my boat), and a couple of other things. However, I am not an artist by any means. But I am quite good with the computer and social media, wordpress, website maintenance, blogs, etc.


    When it comes to work I am a self-starter und need little to no supervision. I actually do enjoy working by myself and do not need a lot of company, even though I enjoy good conversations a lot. In my free time I like to read a book and need very little company or attention. A good internet connection, at least for a few hours during the day, would be fantastic to keep my relationships updated and continue my blogs writings. I am reliable and once I made a commitment I will keep it. Happy to stay for extended periods if it suits both parties.


    If you are interested in connecting and have a place for me in which you think I could be of help to you and/or your project in any of the above mentioned areas, I'd be happy to hear from you.

    I am travelling with Christine and our profiles are linked.

    All the best, Axel

  • Intereses

    Naturaleza
    Acampada
    Navegar / barcos
    Actividades al aire libre
    Senderismo
    Vida en autocaravana
    Agricultura
    Jardinería
    Sostenibilidad
    Animales
    Mascotas
    Bricolaje y manualidades
    Escritura
    Vegetariano o vegano
    Autodesarrollo
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Vida en una granja
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica

    Puedo enseñar:  

    Hostelería/turismo
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    organic gardening, permaculture, farming, aquaculture, hydroponics, food forests, reforestation, teaching, biology, genetics, plant breeding, scientific research, internet services, blogging, writing, programming, databases, website management, boat maintenance, boat repairs, sailing, sailing instruction, hostel management, reception work, booking management (checkfront, booking.com, hostelworld, tripadvisor, ...)

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Más información sobre tus intereses idiomáticos
    Eager to learn more spanish. Can help with German if there is an interest :-)

    Buscar un colega de idioma

  • Edad

    58

  • Nacionalidad

    german

  • Algo más...

    I am a simple guy who gets along with almost anyone and under any condition. But even though I am serious and sincere when it comes to my work and my ideals (see above), I somehow don't like serious people or a stressful environment. I often follow my gut feelings and my intuition more than my knowledge (even though I have a scientific background) because there are always pros and cons for everything. I feel there is a lot of work to be done to clean up the planet and make people aware of the problems our western cultural habits cause. But it can all be done with an open and friendly attitude towards each other.

    I don't mind heavy rain or hotter climates but I cannot stand constant bombardment with loud noises (cars, music, people, etc.) or constant chatter from people. I have sailed the Indian ocean on a small sailboat with 3 other guys. 15 days nonstop on the water with little to do except watching the water, the weather, and the waves. Have lived the past 5 years permanently on a sailboat in the Mediterranean, which I crossed from east to west and back several times on my own keel. So not much can disturb my peace or shock me anymore. But now I feel a strong desire to get back on the land, put my hands in the dirt, and ease my eyes and ears in lush green tropical surroundings and do something meaningful for this world.

    Personally, I have very few requirements other than some space and a quiet and preferably remote location. I do not need fancy foods or meat or a lot of entertainment. I can entertain myself well enough with my own ideas :-) Give me an internet connection once in a while and a quiet place for myself surrounded by nature, some good company, and I am happy and well functional.

    In the long run I imagine living permanently in any tropical or subtropical location, either on my own property (which I will still have to find) or as a long-term partner on somebody else's place (if the opportunity presents itself and we our values align well enough). Would be happy to work on or with boats too since I have the proper licenses and can fix a couple of common things on boats, even on the engine.

    I am looking for some purposeful work, helping either the people, the environment, or the animals, and perhaps all of them :-) The earth and its people need healing in so many ways that I am sure there will a place for me where I can help. Let me know if it is your place :-)

    Last but not least: I was married once for 20 years (got divorced 10 years ago) and have three boys who have all flown the nest :-)

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial

Comentarios


Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios