• Gran Bretaña
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (3)

Top Workawayer

Amigos (1)

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    en casa

    Mi próximo destino:

    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    *️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️UPDATE *️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️*️️️️️
    I just got back to the UK from Turkey and will be looking for Workaway opportunities from the end of May 2022

    I am an older-than-average Workawayer with a young outlook on life and a great sense of fun, I'm willing to work hard and look to develop new skills as I travel. I am a good organiser in both admin and household chores and have a talent for coaching and helping people to improve their spoken and written English; I am a good companion and conversationalist.
    My interests include Mindfulness, Meditation and Yoga; I'm currently studying MBSR (Mindful Based Stress Reduction).
    I'm looking for a new hosts on my travels in 2022 – happy to consider short-term or long-term placements – please drop me an email if you think I might fit your needs :D
    I am a mature solo traveller, self sufficient and comfortable in my own company, friendly and outgoing in the company of others, looking to see and explore new places and enjoy new experiences.

    My background is that I was a civil servant in the UK for too long.... over 40 years (yawn yawn, how did that happen!?!?) I have studied Psychology, NLP, Meditation and Mindfulness and have been a confidence coach and counsellor in the spare time I created by taking a partial retirement.

    I took two years of unpaid leave to travel and enjoy myself, meet new people, learn new skills and help people along the way whenever possible. As the unpaid leave came to an end I decided to take full retirement from the end of March 2018 (Woohooo!!)

    In addition to clerical, computer, organisational and managerial skills, I also have experience in catering and hospitality, having been a partner (at different times and with different partners) in both a pub/B&B and a small cafe in the UK. I can also offer guidance to people who want to learn more about mindfulness and meditation and can facilitate guided meditations or offer coaching.

    I enjoy walking and exploring, particularly coastlines or near rivers or lakes (I noticed from my pre-travel trip around England that 90% of my photos have a body of water in them somewhere!). I like nature, animals, architecture and learning.
    I have discovered, while meeting and living with people from many different countries, that I have a talent for coaching people to improve their English speaking and writing skills. This is mainly through conversation and daily interaction, often in a fun way with lots of laughter. I am not professing to be a teacher, but it is something that I enjoy doing and those I have helped say that I do it really well (which feels very nice :D)

    A non-smoker, I do like the odd glass of wine or beer. I think I am easy company (but don't we all?). I am not a fitness fanatic by any means but am reasonably fit and healthy and happy to 'muck in' to help where help is needed. I am lucky that I am able to eat most things and have learned that I can happily eat vegan or vegetarian food and can adapt my diet to fit in with the preferences of my hosts or housemates without too much effort on my part.

    So far I have enjoyed Workaway experiences in Ireland, Spain and Greece, Morocco, Italy and Turkey in a variety of placements including puppy weaning and dog care; spring cleaning and re-organising a family home; English language coaching in private homes and in a language academy; house sitting and cat sitting! My most recent placements involved helping to make a documentary about a new meditation and movement practice in Greece and helping to create and edit content for a Travel website in Turkey.

    I have attended a wonderful meditation retreat in the Pyrenees, enjoyed a relaxing yoga holiday in Crete, had an exciting Sahara adventure in Morocco and (as a treat to myself) I've also taken holidays with friends in Sri Lanka, Singapore, Bali and Hong Kong - I consider myself to be very fortunate in being able to do all these things and making new and interesting friends along the way is a fabulous bonus. I'm looking forward to my next adventure, whatever that might be :D

  • Intereses

    Yoga / bienestar
    Eventos y sociedad
    Cuidado de plantas
  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Me interesa:  

    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Trabajo de caridad
    Práctica de idiomas

    Ciertos conocimientos de:  

    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    Native English speaker educated to degree level
    English Language Coach - I have developed some skills and have gained experience in helping people who wish to improve their spoken or written English
    Coaching and counselling
    Mindfulness - I'm able to teach mindfulness for beginners
    NLP (neuro-linguistic programming) - I am a practitioner of NLP and I can use this to help people to deal with anxieties or fears and phobias as well as boosting confidence and opening minds to a new (more positive and healthy) way of thinking
    Meditation - I practice meditation myself and am able to offer guided meditation for those interested in trying meditation for themselves
    Beta reading and beta testing of books and websites (including checking the English translations)
    General housework (cooking cleaning etc)
    Animal care (small pets)
    Admin skills; all basic skills, specialising in designing and refining processes and writing/editing guidance or instructions
    Customer service and hospitality experience
    Organisational skills; I was involved in the running of a large sport and leisure organisation and served on several committees within it and organised many trips and events (both sporting and leisure) for members and their families
    Conscientious, honest and trustworthy

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante
    Turco: Principiante

  • Edad


  • Nacionalidad


  • Algo más...

    I am easy going and enjoy meeting new people and exploring new places. I am keen to improve my own language skills and am always happy to help anyone who wants to improve their English
    I'm originally from the north-east of England and grew up in Sunderland and North Yorkshire. When I was 28, I moved to live on the Isle of Wight, a small island off the south coast of England. I have a son who lives in Brighton, UK
    I love music and enjoy listening to most genres, particularly fond of blues/rock and love to go to festivals and concerts

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia

    • Dieta especial