Alison

  • Australia
  • Inicia sesión para ver la actividad reciente

Medallas (2)

Good Workawayer

Información de perfil

  • Información de viaje

    Ahora estoy

    viajando

    Mi próximo destino:

    Cuba
    Ver todos
  • Descripción

    Hi,
    My name is Alison and I am from Australia.
    I love travelling, I love people and I love the natural beauty of our world. Ten years ago, my husband and I left Australia on our boat (it's an old fishing boat not a luxurious yacht).
    Right now we spend part of the year on board and part of the year at home.
    We have spent time with people from many countries, cultures and economic backgrounds.
    Recently someone told me about Workaway and I was immediately inspired.
    I WOULD LIKE TO HELP OTHERS BY TEACHING ENGLISH.
    I am a trained teacher and I taught in primary schools in Australia for 25 years, finishing my career as school principal. I love children and I am passionate about education. I believe that education is empowering. It can improve people's lives and increase opportunities for a positive future.
    But now, my passion has taken another turn.
    Last year I spent time at a Spanish school in Mexico. Great for my Spanish - but amazing for another reason. Learning Spanish inspired me want to teach English! I was so excited that I went home and completed a TEFL course. (TEFL=Teaching English as a Foreign Language)
    So now I have my TEFL Certification and I am fully qualified to teach English overseas.
    I want to help people learn English - Adults as well as children.
    I am 56 years old but I am full of energy and enthusiasm. I am a very positive person, am flexible and I have loads of patience!
    As a teacher, I want my students to enjoy learning, to want to learn, to make good progress and to be able to see their own success. Smiles and laughter are for sharing!
    I am very interested in other cultures and am interested in real exchange. I think that it is important to listen, to communicate, to share – and to offer what I can.
    If you'd like to learn or improve your English (and maybe help me with my Spanish) I'd love to hear from you.
    Alison

  • Habilidades y conocimientos que quiero compartir o aprender

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
  • Que habilidades tienes?

    I'm a primary teacher and TEFL qualified.
    I'm eager to help adults or children to learn or improve their English.
    I am able to relate to a wide range of people of all ages and backgrounds.
    I enjoy working as part of a team but am equally happy working independently.
    I think it is important to listen carefully to what people want, to notice when and where help is needed - and to give 100% with enthusiasm.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Edad

    60

  • Nacionalidad

    Australian

  • Algo más...

    I am an outdoors person and love hiking, bike riding, kayaking and exploring remote places.
    I live on a boat for much of the year with my husband, Rodger. I am optimistic and always look for (and find) the good in others. I love to try new foods, meet new people and see new places.
    Sorry, but I am not on Facebook.

  • Más información

    • Fumador

    • Permiso de conducir

    • Alergia
      no

    • Dieta especial
      no

Comentarios

Amigos

Fotos

Comentarios