Christian Farm, with a variety of building, landscaping and other similar activities near Lethbridge, Canada.

Country

Canadá

30 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/08/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 7 dias

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Welcome back to the farm at the edge of the world! 8 years ago we forsook the ‘instant’ life to take seriously the need to be good stewards with relationships, land, animals, etc. There are 3 families (multigenerational), living in a large house (3 autonomous levels), on 100 acres of ranch land. We have cows, horses, pigs, ducks, chickens, dogs, cats, gardens, ponds, etc. We’re an hour north of the US border (Montana), and 2hrs south of Calgary.

    We’re looking for a male workawayer to help with; building, fencing, landscaping, pasture management, running machinery, irrigation maintenance, wood cutting (some extra muscle to ease the women’s loads), etc... Tasks change with the seasons, it’s all easy to learn and we’re experimenting as we go. The kids are involved in everything we do, they’re the thermometer to make sure it’s all done with simplicity and love, and talking through problems as we go is a priority.

    Freud said, “Friendship is the art of keeping distance and love is the art of intimacy”. Our goal is to face life (land, animals, food, sex) square in the face, to expose our pride and failure and to go to God and his church for answers. We gather 3 times a week as a house-church to break bread, pray and study. Also, everyone is learning Hebrew and any help with that would be great.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Construcción
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Watching for hungry, disquieted, and brave young men who want to recover kinship, animals, and the land. What we’re always learning here is how to better relate as men and women and to respect and value the children.

    “The man who lives in a small community lives in a much larger world. He knows much more of the fierce varieties and uncompromising divergences of men. In a large community we choose our companions, while in the small community our companions are chosen for us. Thus, in highly civilized societies groups come into existence through sympathy and shut out the real world more sharply than the gates of a monastery. There is nothing really narrow about the clan; the thing which is really narrow is the clique. A big society exists in order to form cliques and promote narrowness. It is a machinery for the purpose of guarding the solitary and sensitive individual from all experience of the bitter and bracing human compromises... It is a society for the prevention of Christian knowledge.” G.K. Chesterton

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    As said above, we need a hand with; building, fencing, landscaping, pasture management, running machinery, irrigation maintenance, butchering, wood cutting, etc... We tackle jobs and projects as they arise, there is no exact routine just a willingness to learn and be helpful. Focused jobs take about 5 hrs a day. We all enjoy stopping for a swim or a skate, or horse ride. Saturday and Sunday afternoons are often spent playing tennis, soccer, volleyball, swimming, saunaing, etc...

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Hebrew: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The women all enjoy home-making and being hospitable so house related things (meals, laundry, cleaning, etc..) are covered. We try to use what we produce here and eat a traditional diet with little processed foods. We make our own beer and wine, etc. Anyone with food limitations wouldn’t be a good match.

    There is a private bedroom with shared bathroom. There’s internet but we try to use it to enhance relationships not to avoid them.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The USA is an hour south and the mountains are 2hrs west. We try to go hiking and cliff jumping there at least once in the summer.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 988481562397