Welcoming helping hands on the Isle of Luing, West Coast of Scotland, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado   Última hora

850 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    31  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    20/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    112

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 4 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    For me home is at the Isle of Luing on the West coast of Scotland, a 3 minute ferry trip and a15 mile bus ride to Oban, the nearest town. I work at home as a designer of wooden sailboats.

    The house is set in a hectare on the water's edge in a quiet location, a NO MEAT, NO SMOKING NO ALCOHOL house. The island has 150 other inhabitants, mostly 2 miles away or more, so life is very quiet. The island has a tiny store.

    You will have plenty of spare time. There is scope on the island for exploring, walking or using our bikes.... even the occasional sailing trip if the sun shines, the wind blows and the tide is right.

    I'm curious about my star rating for Cultural Exchange.... less than 100%. What does cultural exchange mean? Maybe its because I am not Scottish. Maybe because the Isle of Luing is not blessed with a very obvious wealth of historic buildings, an opera house, theatre, art gallery or the other 'attractions' of a city. The culture here is more subtle!

    I occasionally travel to the USA where I support a voluntary boatbuilding project. Back at home on the Isle of Luing the house always needs maintenance and I have several projects underway. Gardening involves help with a mower, strimmer (bush whacker!) and rake, not tending flowers and vegetables!

    Its always been a pleasure for me when a workawayer has taken over the kitchen! l need simple, fresh vegetarian food!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I have travelled extensively, and enjoy sharing my place here with other travellers, discussing your future plans and hearing about your adventures. I'm happy and patient helping you with your English (although I live in Scotland I do speak BBC English). A long time ago I studied Law & Economics and became an Accountant, but retired aged 27 to enjoy every creative day since as a yacht designer/boatbuilder!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    This year, 2022.....

    Help is always welcome... construction projects, housework/maintenance, sharing the cooking and gardening. Grass cutting from May-October, and this winter, the reconstruction of a wooden shed and completion of (another) kitchen.

    In the winter months some help with video editing, especially if you have some software & knowledge! (need to record some more sailing video to complete).

    Projects are more fun with someone else about, and a second pair of hands is always useful. You will have plenty of time to enjoy the surroundings... wildlife, stunning scenery!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    I have enormous admiration for those who are trying to improve their English, and am always happy and patient helping travellers from overseas. My skills with French are limited, with Spanish almost non-existent, but this has not stopped me travelling extensively in Europe, North & South America.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Comfortable private bedroom & bathroom. (Much of the house is a spacious open plan, your bedroom has a partial sea view).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Pastimes I like to share with visitors: Walking, Cycling, Sailing and making Music (I play guitar, especially if you can sing..... and have various 'spare' guitars). The Island is just 10km long, and transport on the mainland is limited. We are 25km from the nearest town, 4 hours from Glasgow by bus or train. I sometimes drive south for the weekend or longer, to Edinburgh, Glasgow, Selkirk or the Lake District in England so can sometimes help with transport from these places. I also make a weekly trip to Oban to collect food.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    A good flat spot 15metres from the sea! Narrow access track may limit big Campervans, so ask.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    2 or 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.4)

Comunicación: (5.0)




















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 982483369641