Hobby Farm in Central Nova Scotia , Salmon River, Canada

Country

Canadá

2 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    31/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Jim and Gillian recently purchased a 32 acre hobby farm with the intention to grow as much of their own food, in the most healthy and sustainable processes as possible. They also try to include other people in their property plans in a variety of ways.

    The livestock is grass fed and raised on pasture with the goal to love and respect the land that the animals are raised on as well as loving and respecting the animals themselves. They hope their critters will have a happy life with no need for medications or fear of humans. The animals on the farm are always changing but they have had cattle, egg chickens, meat chickens, pigs, ducks, guinea fowl, goats, and outdoor cats. Currently their focus is on a few head of cattle, and half a dozen goats, endeavoring to maintain fence lines to feed the animals and grow hay for eventual cutting.

    Each year the butchered meat from one or two animals is donated to specific not-for-profit programs in the area. Also, on the farm an acre of land has been sectioned off and donated to the use of agricultural university students for market share gardening.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In the past we have hosted plenty of different people in our home including foster children, international exchange students, intern students, bnb customers and family friends have stayed with us at various times. We are patient people especially with communication. We find it seems like people will try harder to communicate if they feel like you are trying hard to communicate yourself. We are very adventurous about what we eat and love learning what other cultures prepare for meals at home. We don't pressure our guests into cooking but are completely open and excited about those types of experiences.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We would love to have people come and give us a hand with some repetitive or menial tasks in the summer. It would be a bonus to have someone who would come and do kitchen duties such as cooking and cleaning.

    There seems to always be projects on the go or needing to be started. Our 2022 list of farm projects currently looks like this:

    - Help putting in a 1/2 acre pumpkin patch
    - Peel and sharpen fence posts
    - Some repairs to barn trim work
    - Some field clean up and repairs due to flood damage
    - Processing fire wood for next heating season
    - General small maintenance and repairs on hay making equipment

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Jim and Gillian own a 150 year old farm house which is located a short five minute drive outside of Truro, Nova Scotia in Canada. Their guests get their own private bedroom (linens are provided, fans and wifi) and share the two bathrooms in the house. The house has five upstairs guest bedrooms and they can support a variety of different slumbering needs;

    1.) twin bedroom (dresser included)
    2.) twin bedroom (dresser included)
    3.) twin bed with trundle twin under it for friends travelling together (small dresser, small closet)
    4.) queen bedroom (two night stands, dresser, closet and desk)
    5.) double bedroom (two night stands, dresser, small closet)

    Each room has a slide lock and key to keep your things secure if you should feel the need, although no one has ever used them. Jim and Gillian do not drink or do any form of drugs (recreational or otherwise) and would appreciate guests respecting that same boundary while visiting. Their home is smoke free and pet free.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are plenty of places to go in Nova Scotia for people who enjoy being outside. Hiking/walking paths, rivers for canoeing, scenic areas to drive, etc. Victoria Park is one of Truro's greatest assets - a natural woodland park of roughly 3,000 acres in the center of town with an extensive trail system for all ages.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We could consider having a campervan or motorhome on our property depending on your needs. If you just need a spot to park, we have a lovely river away from the house where you could park and camp. We do have an outdoor electrical outlet on the garage but it is in a spot where garage access is often necessary for farm equipment maintenance. In that case, temporary access or overnight access may be granted, but not necessarily permanent all day or everyday parking.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 982273553255