Help start a farm in Coastal Maine, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

40 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Update 7/14:

    Seeking friendly people, collaborators, artists, farmers, eccentrics and innovators for Sept and October 2021!

    Summer is in full swing here on the coast of Maine. The fireflies are out, tourists are going crazy for lobster rolls, and the weeds are popping up everywhere! There's good crew of volunteers working away right now, but we're looking into the fall future for more help.

    Please reach out and say hello!

    --------------------------


    Hello I'm Ian, I'm 31 and I am a gardener with a small homestead in Lamoine, ME near Acadia National Park. I am in the process of starting a nursery/farm, and I would love to have some help. I live alone here on the property, and work a few different jobs, so it would be great to have helpful, trustworthy, independent and enthusiastic volunteers to help build/create/maintain and inspire.

    I grow fruit and vegetables, and I am building a program to donate this produce to local food panty's and food-security nonprofits. I am also am beginning to grow medicinal herbs, which I will eventually sell to bulk medicinal suppliers.

    I am in the true beginning phase of this farm. There are many projects, which means it’s very exciting and new, and there are also lots of different things going on simultaneously. I’m building new beds, putting up buildings and greenhouses, tilling up new ground in the field, building irrigation systems and dialing in the varieties I will be growing. I am working with other local farmers and growers to collaborate with new techniques in community-based agriculture, permaculture and regenerative farming.

    I have eight acres of field and woods near Lamoine Beach and Lamoine State Park. Acadia National Park is about 15 minutes away, and there's lots of opportunity for hiking, climbing, swimming and biking.

    I am looking for volunteers to come and help me on short term and long term projects. The best fit would be couples, or individuals, who don’t mind working alone, and are self-directed and self-motivated, flexible and easy going. Previous experience isn’t as important as a strong work ethic and open-mindedness. Transportation is essential.

    I value communication above anything else, and I’d love to chat more with you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Travelers will learn how to grow fruit and vegetables using organic, regenerative farming techniques and we will be donating this food to local food pantry to help support the needs of our communities.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    All types of help will be greatly appreciated. The most valuable help right now is in the garden and orchard, helping clear more land, and many building and construction projects.

    Some of the first projects will be to build more infrastructure to make volunteers more comfortable, like an outdoor shower and tent platforms.

    I have an acre garden of medicinal, fruit and vegetables, which needs weeding, watering, planting and harvesting depending on the time of year. I am in the process of expanding the orchard, and will need help planting, watering, and maintenance.

    I'm always expanding the field, maintaining a trail network on the property and cutting wood in the woodlot. Volunteers with chainsaws experience and their own chainsaws are a real plus!

    I have a small cabin, and a few outbuildings that need additions and maintenance. I'm working on irrigation, and prepping sites for future greenhouses.

    I have a dog, and a few ducks that often need tending. I will also be raising turkeys this year.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Volunteers will be provide a private off-grid yurt with one fullsized bed. There is no electricity or running water in yurt, but there is a small solar-power setup for lights and a sink for cooking and handwashing. There's a small camp stove for cooking and heating water, and a woodstove if it gets cold.

    It’s very basic, quiet, simple, clean and comfortable.

    I have a small outdoor kitchen for cooking group meals, and there is a shared compost/humanure toilet. I am currently working on building an outdoor shower, and for now there is a basic sun shower.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The ocean is just a short walk down the road, and there are private trails on the property.
    Acadia National Park and the Schoodic Peninsula are very close.
    It would be very helpful to have your own transportation. I've got bikes you can borrow!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Happy to host digital nomads who come with their own mobile internet connection

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Vans, and small campers are welcome. There are no hookups. Unfortunately our space cannot support large motor homes.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Dogs that do not bark or run off are welcome, as longs as they get along friendly with free range ducks, children, and other dogs!

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 978627496974