Who helps us grow an edible garden for our vegan house? Almere, Netherlands



722 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Una semana o menos

  • Descripción


    Our dream is building a permaculture garden in the small plot behind our office. We don't have any experience with gardening, permaculture or growing vegetables, but we would love to learn from someone who can take the lead, make a garden plan based on our wishes and to get started. We prefer someone to stay with us for at least two months in spring/summer to set this up together and who can teach us how to continue after you leave :)

    EXTRA CREDITS IF YOU LIKE TO ENTERTAIN KIDS AND ARE ABLE TO DRIVE A CAR: Sometimes we work late or we have meetings in another city, which means we can’t pick up our daughter from school at 3pm. We are looking for a female nanny who would be willing to stay with us for at least 1 month and who can practice English with her after school.

    Update: we prefer to host families with kid(s), because our daughter would love to have more kids around, especially in summer! But if you are a solo traveller/childless couple/duo with a playful mind, you are welcome to apply as well :)

    We are Veerle and Pablo, and our 8-year old daughter Mila. We live in a house with 4 bedrooms, a big livingroom/kitchen, a bathroom and a veranda. And a garden :)

    We use one of the bedrooms as a a small guest room for (international) volunteers who like to spend time at our place. If you don't mind staying in a room with a pink wall and quite some kids toys, you are welcome to stay with us as a volunteer. We also have an extra room with a double high bed, which comes in handy when we have more than one guest staying over. And we have a very nice couch on which guests have slept before.

    We are quite new to Workaway, and we welcome people for short stay as well as long stays, however we work with a trial period of one week. If we get along very well, we are flexible and can extend your stay.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    During your exchange you will live in the middle of the Netherlands. Almere might not be as well known as Amsterdam, but it is actually one of the biggest city of the Netherlands. Many people from Amsterdam come to live here because it is very close to Amsterdam (30 minutes by train), but much greener. Our office is next to the train station and at a 5 minutes walk from a big nature reserve called Oostvaardersplassen (sometimes called 'Amsterdam Safari'). You can see hundreds of wild horses, deers, buffalo's and thousands of different kinds of birds.

    Apart from the natural beauty, you will certainly enjoy to have a look behind the scenes of a vegan non-profit organization, you will take nice vegan food (or prepare it yourself), maybe join us in events and contribute to make a change for a better world for humans and animals.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Edible garden:
    The house has a garden which is currently nothing but some pavement, a few plants and many weeds. As work-a-way volunteer you can help with weeding and the creation/maintenance of an organic edible garden. We are looking for a volunteer who has skills in gardening/permaculture, who can advice and implement these in the garden. There is no plan for the garden yet, so it will be up to you to design a plan, present it, get feedback and implement it. We will give priority this summer to people who can help with this project.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    The place is a combination of an office (downstairs) and a family house (upstairs). Our two staff members (Veerle and Pablo) and their daughter Mila (2013) live there. At the top floor we have a spare room for one volunteer. It is pretty basic, but nice. We have a shared bathroom and 2 toilets (one upstairs and one downstairs).

    Daughter Mila (2013) loves to talk to volunteers and learn new languages. Once she likes you, she will show it to you by asking your attention basically all the time. And she will teach you Dutch :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live next to a train station (Almere Oostvaarders). We have direct connection by train to Amsterdam and Utrecht. The House is smoke-free and free of animal products. We trust you will respect that.

    In Almere we have plenty of sights worth visiting, several nature reserves, a beach, a wild life rescue center, sport facilities and swimming pools. Of course you are welcome to borrow our bikes (in case we are not using them ourselves). Did you know we are actually located under sea level? True story!

    IMPORTANT: We receive many applications from Work away-ers. Several a day actually! This makes it difficult to react instantly. Please note your application will receive a standard answer in case you send us an impersonal mail just asking us to stay. If we host you, we would at least like to know more about you, your motivation to work for the the Foundation and a concrete proposal of tasks you could help us with and why you would be the best fit for this organization.

    Applications will be read by are project manager Veerle. Also take into account that the house where you will stay will be completely vegan. It is not allowed to bring in non-vegan items. This is why we prefer to host vegans and vegetarians, even though our house is open to non-vegans who would like to experiment with a vegan lifestyle.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours/day (max 25 hours/week)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 939941817147