Help me build a traditional root cellar on my off-grid farm in Sointula, Canada

Country

Canadá

3 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    06/08/2022

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I am a single grandmother. I am scientist studying salmon health and whales and an activist to protect them. I cut all my own firewood and growing 2 larger gardens. I have a dog. I have written several books including Listening to Whales and Not on My Watch. I am trying to increase food security for my community by gradually building a farm focussing on winter vegetables. My home is off-grid on a bluff overlooking an area frequented by whales which I study.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The property is near a local in a fishing village, a short ferry ride from the larger island of Vancouver Island. I am a scientist, writer, gardener, grandmother and activist studying and protecting wild salmon.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I am looking for someone who can build a traditional root cellar. Also want to build a large woodshed, post and beam construction with metal roof.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The accommodation is a tiny house built into a large truck. It is a beautiful space all natural wood, a tiny woodstove and a propane cookstove. It is located in a field frequented by deer. The property is off grid (solar) so power use is limited, no hair dyers :)! The water supply is limited, so no long showers, drinking water will be provided in containers, same as in the main house. There is an outhouse. A family of 4 lived in the tiny house for 5 years. It is comfortable with a double bed, loft, table and counters. There are large gardens with food available and a local market that is small, but well stocked with vegan and organic and other options. I will cover the cost of food, which can be prepared in the tiny house with some shared meals.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This area is a tourist destination. People visit to see whales, fish for salmon, kayak, camp and bike. Town is 20 minutes away by car down a dirt road. The community is friendly and familiar with Work Away so rides should be easily arranged when I am not heading into town. There is only one restaurant open some days, but not for dinner. The island is ringed with cobblestone beaches. Sea otters, seals, eagles, sea lions are easily visible from the beach.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    There is an office space with fair internet via Starlink

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is a large field where a van/motorhome could be parked, but it is off-grid. There is no power to plug into.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 938252135172