Bubbly and lively family in the small town Wolpertshausen in South Germany looking for some help



485 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    92.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

  • Descripción


    We are a bubbly, lively, chaotic, rather loud, but nice family.
    That is my husband Helmut, me, Susanne, our four kids Emelie (20), Luisa (18), Manuel (14) and Raphael (11).
    Then there are: our Dog Daisy, 4 cats ( 18-4 years old) and our rooster, Henry 1st, with his entourage of 2? chickens.
    Furthermore there are Jacques and Claude, two french miniature goats (male) taking care of the lawn and everything else they can reach. Also, 5 indian runner ducks, ;-))
    We live in the small town Wolpertshausen in South Germany.
    We live in an old big farm house, actually it's two houses and a huge barn.
    We moved here 2015 and we love it,
    Still there is a lot to do, but step by step, we're getting further.
    As you see above, we love animals.

    The houses are restored in loam and timber fraimed. We only heat with basic furnace.
    The houses are surrounded by a nice big garden, some fruittrees, walnut, haselnuts, a lot of native "jungle", which we couldn't get managed so far, its just growing and growing.

    We love to sing and make music, we have a piano, flutes, cajons, guitars, we're not able to play all of it, but the instuments are here, ready to be used ;-) We are having our band and play concerts in our region.

    My husband works as a captain on a boat on the Rhine River, that makes him travel a lot. He's always at home for four weeks, to leave to work for another four weeks.

    We've been offering workaway for a few years now and most of it was great fun. We really appreciate all the things that have been done, since we've started workaway. We've met so many extraordinary people. The kids have picked up english so well and all in all it is really a win/win-idea.

    We eat meat, mostly organic, but we've reduced it to a minimum. So we prepare meatless very often.
    We usually cook a warm meal once a day, normally at lunchtime, after the kids come home from school. Breakfast and Dinner is kept simple but good. We dont provide snacks, alcohol or softdrinks, visitors would have to buy that stuff themselfes! There were a few missunderstandings, that is why we mention it.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We're really into communication, bringing up our children, we focus on relationship, instead of following any concept or education-model. The kids visit a Waldorfschool (Steiner School), we love what Jesper Juul said about education.
    We are interested to create an invironment of respect and dignity of every human beeing. And we are praticing daily and sometimes we're really doing good;-))
    So if you are interested in personal development, awareness and humanity, we'd love to meet you.
    We could teach you different ways to meditate, just ask if that is of any interest for you. And of course practise language both ways.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    We're planing the following projects:

    No 1:
    The space in between the two houses needs a couple of hands to make that area nice and useful.
    We want to create an outdoor kitchen there.

    No 2:
    Waterprotection arround the house, means to clear off soil and dirt, bring in grit, concrete and flagstones

    No 3:
    Finishing an aera with concrete slabs.

    No 4:
    We want to build two walls with natural stones. One as an Outdoorshower, the other one as a sight and windprotection.

    No 5:
    Clearing the barn, shifting, sorting out, organizing, there is much stuff, any thing just everywhere.
    So a person, who loves to organize would be a bliss ;-)

    No 6: The front sight of our barn needs a facelift - desperatly, sanding the beams of the timberframes and fixing, plastering and painting the stoneparts in between .
    Thats the jobs need to be done.

    The projects mentioned above, are all options. We ususally find out together, which job matches with you skills, interests, the weather and my mood. Sometimes there ist no choice . But basically I count on motivation and that makes normally a difference on results.
    You don't have to do that stuff all by yourself, but you can, if you're ambitioned or keen on doing so!
    Means, we'll always be arround, help, support.
    But we also appreciate people who are creative, think themselves and like challenges or love to do things from beginning to the end.
    If my husband is at home, it might happen, that other jobs need to be done, so the above is just optional, also are we flexible with all jobs. If you see something of your interest, have certain skills in sth., dont hesitate to speak up.
    We cannot look inside poeples heads, nor can we say by the shape of someones hands, what is of ones interest, what skills does somebody have, please talk to us.

    PLEASE do only apply, if you really want to live with a very bubbly family and not just looking for cheap accomodation.
    Also if you have problems with the fact that a woman tells you what to do, you better stay away, workaway is Susannes business ;-)

    Thank you!


    We're always open for last minute visitors in periods we are available, of course
    - if you are a spontaneous person, just ask, no matter if you bring skills for the project.
    - we have always little stuff to do, like sweeping, gardening, weeding, animal care, little maintainance
    - also possible for shorter visits
    - if you like children and willing to a public pool five times a week, e.g. ;-)), than we can do the projects and you go swimming with the kids, that would also count as working time.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    you will stay in your own space with seperate bathroom and maybe share the room with another workawayer. There's Wifi and free internet. We have no television .
    About the Off-days, usually we dont work on Sundays, so that is always a day off.
    The second day is mostly off during the week, so that you get the chance to go shopping or visit towns, when shops are open. Not necessarely on Monday though, depending how we get on with the project.
    Saturdays we always work!
    Not because I have any problems with any religion or personal needs or ideas.
    I just want to have the choice, if I will have to cook seperate meals or not. We are a family not a hostel. Therefore it should be my decision, before someone arrives and not an extra job I 'll have to do, once someone is already here.

    For me workaway is meeting interesting people, cultural exchange, but mostly relief and support.
    Not additional things to do or extra cost for double cooking. Sorry for beeing so straight, but we had a few weird experiences and just want to avoid misunderstandings, disappointment or wrong expectations.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The region where we live, is located between Nürnberg and Heidelberg ( both approx. 100 km away), its rather countryside and therefore very quiet. No nightlife, no pubs, no party!! So if you're into that, dont come!
    The next town is Schwäbisch Hall (14km) , with is a very nice town with a historical old towncenter and a beautiful park. There are a lot of cultural things to do, such as museums and theaters. Also there is a nice Public Pool (indoor and outdoors) with a big spa.
    The next shop is 3 km away.
    Next Busstop 2,5 km.
    Next Trainstation 10 km.
    Next Airport 110 km

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week, the days off are not always in a row not necessarily on weekends!

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 935449651629