Our home is lovely but we could really use help with painting, gardening, the dogs and more! Midi Pyrenees, France

Country

Francia

18 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    87.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there. Jason and Owen here.
    We're a couple who moved to SW France in 2017 from London.
    I'm establishing a business teaching English and French from a mini classroom at home. Owen was a chef and we're looking to expand our business to include people coming to stay to learn French.
    We have two dogs. Eva is a very spoilt nearly nine year old pugalier, and isn't really clear that she's a dog. Izzie is nearly one. She's completely bonkers but has a very sweet nature. We got her from a rescue organisation who told us she was a Jack Russell cross. She must have been crossed with a pony as she's a big dog, the same size roughly as a Dalmatian. We also have 3 cats who are delightful but extremely crafty.
    We live in the countryside about 3km from a small town called Trie sur Baïse. We're close to everything you need in terms of shops etc. We're 1h30 from Toulouse and 30 mins from Tarbes. We're also only 1 hour from the Pyrenees which you can see from the top of our road.
    We both love food and easy going evenings chatting outside or inside when it gets nippy.
    In short we love our new life but would like to have a Workawayer to help us spruce up the house, get the garden in order and help us a bit with the dogs.
    Anyone interested in learning French, or about cooking, or about teaching as a career would benefit!
    I studied French at Uni and I'm from Merseyside. Going abroad to stay with penpals when I was 17 and studying in France as part of my degree gave me some horrific experiences of staying in France, but equally some amazing ones. I'd like to help young people have a great experience.
    I'm sorry but I smoke. Wish I didn't but I do, so you'll smell smoke sometimes. Only in certain rooms and depending if it's a party. If you cannot cope at all with tobacco smoke, I'm sorry you won't like it here.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I teach French and English from home. I'd be happy to include lessons for somebody who's helping us out.
    We'd also involve any Workawayer in all our social life with local French people and other English people who live in the region.
    Anyone interested in teaching as a career, especially teaching languages will benefit from my experience.
    I'd expect any Workawayer to want to improve her/his French. That would happen!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our home is lovely but we could really use help with painting indoors and out, but nothing too challenging.
    We have a very big garden and we want to get it right so if you have any gardening experience that would be great.
    We might need you to dog sit now and again.
    If you are generally handy (fixing locks, plugs, basic plumbing) and are sociable and friendly, and love animals, we'd love to hear from you 😀

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    French English German( ok ) Spanish(not great)

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have your own double bedroom with a shower/toilet opposite which will be yours. We have friends to stay now and again, and if the room next to yours was being used, you'd be sharing with another double room. This would only be now and again.
    We'd provide your meals at home, and you would be welcome to use the kitchen and fridge as if you were at home.
    There may be days when we're just needing to chill in which case get on with it!
    I go to the supermarket which is 3 minutes away very regularly so you can get any things you like.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You're welcome to use your time off just chilling out at our place. We have limited internet in the depths of the French countryside so gaming, streaming, and endless Netflix won't work.
    Trie sur Baïse, the local town has a couple of bars and restaurants, but if you're under 25 you're not insured for my car. I'm sure young people have fun here but I'm 48.
    I don't mind taking you to local train station to spend a couple of days in Toulouse.
    On the plus side we have people over all the time for dinner, drinks, lessons, evening conversations in French/English. Sometimes dancing occurs.
    It's like anything. If we're the hosts who suit you, and you're the Workawayers who suit us, we'll do whatever we can to make sure it's a fantastic experience.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.5)




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 923179294568