Local lifestyle with an Australian in Santa Cristina d'Aspromonte, Calabria, Italy



new host   Última hora

21 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción



    As an Australian living in Italy, I loved the fact that there was so much you could do as a volunteer, and this is how my project has started. I started volunteering some years ago and loved the hands-on work and the interaction in which I had with locals. This is what I want to offer the volunteers that come here. An opportunity to experience and see a part of Italy which is rarely visited. To taste the wonders that we produce from the land, to observe a culture old and quaint as well as discover the mountain and waterfalls which surround this unique area.

    As an individual starting from scratch my mission is to share that which once was, to keep tradition and culture alive, but in a fun way. One where a project can branch out to other areas and involve individuals with the same taste, dreams and desires. My mission is to share and keep sharing what knowledge of the land there was and to incorporate better and more sustainable ways of doing things.

    Not running a business and the produce/food is not for sale. If it is only for our own consumption.

    I'd love anyone who could after this date who may want to continue this for long term to contact me. Someone who is able to be somewhat self sufficient and has perhaps a camper and is able to ....well, let's chat.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Here in Aspromonte we are surrounded by nature and the project is clearing a beautiful part in which project oil and….is evolving. The area is peaceful and a great place where people can find time to work on yourselves and assist with the growth of the project.

    You may have your own Wi-Fi and also work on your own projects, and share your skills and language and or culture.

    I speak English as it is my language and Italian, not perfect but well enough to get me by. There is always an exchange.

    You shall learn about food, the land and dreams.

  • Ayuda


    Depending on when you come you will experience different aspects of what goes on in this village tucked away in Aspromonte.
    At the moment I am looking for short and long term stays.
    Short is several days and long is 3 weeks:
    I welcome couples individuals and even families depending on the number of course:
    At present I need help with:
    Olive groves and the oil-normally from October -Feb (cleaning of land all year round) - it is manual work so outdoor wear and boots needed
    Building from recycled material - this needs creativity and incentive - (shed/hut)
    And a bit of painting: - this needs a good eye
    Please keep in mind there is a lot of walking!

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Italian: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    A shared accommodation near center of town.
    There are three single beds in a room. Shared room and a double for couples.
    A kitchen, bathroom.
    The kitchen is shared.
    Things should be put away and clean ALL the time, kitchen and bathroom will be respected and cleaned after individuals use.
    You will find most things you need, yet your toiletries etc. are your responsibility this includes toilet paper, make sure you do not run out.
    Food is not included, (unless you are okay with working a few hours more) yet there is a market every Wednesday morning (small) and a green grocer etc. Fresh vegies and friend are sometimes available depending on production
    70% of the time lunch and dinner are together. Yet, sometimes due to my schedule I sometimes leave you to cook for yourselves. This is a mountain area so you shall find the typical southern Italian cuisine; tasty and wholesome.
    There is no smoking in the accommodation.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Additional information for the Volunteers
    Here in Aspromonte we are surrounded by nature and the project is clearing a beautiful part in which project oil and….is evolving. The area is peaceful and a great place where people can find time to work on themselves and assist with the growth of the project.

    Transport is minimal and for those who arrive it is important that they all understand that I am not always available, and being able to work autonomously is really important. This only means that I also work on other things at the same time.
    Do your research on how to get around if you do not have a car or other means of transport. Walking is the main means of transport to the property, and a good pair of shoes and outdoor wear is needed. There are some fabulous guided tours around the area in which you can take part in, which are usually on a Sunday and affordable. approx 10-20 euro for a guided informative trek.

    How to get to your site
    We are remote, but you can get to us via bus from Reggio Calabria (this is one that arrives here in the afternoon) leaves Reggio at approximately 13:40 and gets here at about 16:00 a great bus ride via the coastal towns. Take note of these you may want to visit them on your days off. You can get to Gioia Tauro (RC) by train or bus and I can arrange to have you picked up it is approximately 28 km’s away. You may want to ride here if you have a bike or even get here by car.

    We have two buses a day which depart early morning (05:30) to Reggio (ETA 07:50), it does connect with other buses, and one at 13:40 which arrives at 15:50. From Reggio Calabria the buses depart at 06:20-13:40-18:00 all from the stop across the road from Stazione Lido (near Cesere Ice Cream Parlour) they take approx an hour and forty to reach the Village.
    (Look up Ferrovie della Calabria)

    The town is Santa Cristina d’Aspromonte (RC) Southern Italy

    Is there internet access?
    Wifi is available at my home. The volunteer accommodation DOES NOT HAVE WIFI.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Well if you are able to stay for a week or a month and work and if you had a camper as the accommodation is currently full with "stuck" volunteers...you'd be welcome. Drop me a line.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    There is an area , the road to the property is narrow, yet you have the use of a bathroom, internet and an outdoor undercover kitchen. It's a pretty great space. This may interest people who are working via computer...gives you the flexibility to perhaps work in the morning and do your own work-discovery. The property here is rather special and has been in the family for a very long time. This is pretty physical work where long term may be taken into consideration.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    I am happy to accept pets, but they must be clean and the space MUST be respected by all using it.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Laying the nets
Picking....and more.....
Rebuilding sheds
Hiking nearby
Watching local came of football
End of winter...brrr
Cleaning the land - cutting grass and thorny bushes
Fab finds to relax and listen to the water rushing by
Making wine
Número de referencia de anfitrión: 898445787285