Summer childcare and wilderness adventures in Haida Gwaii, Canada

Country

Canadá

80 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    05/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a small, nature-loving family living by the ocean in Haida Gwaii looking childcare (one 7-year old girl) and occasional gardening help. Haida Gwaii is a remote and beautiful island off the coast of northern British Columbia known for its magical forests, wildlife, and coastline. Our home is steps from the beach or (in the other direction) trails through spruce and cedar forests. Haida Gwaii is an abundant place and we enjoy gathering wild foods, getting out onto the ocean and into the forests, and meeting travelers who come here each summer. We really enjoy eating from our garden, tending a small herd of milking goats, and hunting and fishing in our local area.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Haida Gwaii is an incredible destination for anyone who enjoys nature, wildlife and the sea. The communities here are very tied to the natural environment and it's an ideal place for hiking, kayaking, fishing, foraging, and outdoor exploration. Because our island is remote, commercial amenities are limited--we have few places to shop, dine out, etc.--but, our islands are rich with wildlife and natural beauty. Eagles nest on the trees, whales can be seen from our town on their annual migration, and it's not uncommon for summer visitors to spot black bears nearby. Locals enjoy making fires on the beach, going out for a paddle in the bay, hunting and fishing, and cooking outdoors. Our town has about 300 full time residents. You won't find bars, cafes, or movie theaters, but the beaches are long (and often empty) and the nights are filled with quiet and stars.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for a volunteer for summer childcare help and occasional support with our garden and livestock chores. We will need babysitting a few hours a day, with week-to-week flexibility that would allow the volunteer to explore Haida Gwaii. Our daughter enjoys sports, arts/crafts, and exploring in nature. In the summer months we spend a lot of time growing and gathering food and welcome you to join us for fishing and foraging adventures. We also like to hike, paddle, and camp.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    The volunteer would enjoy a private bedroom (with a desk and television) and dedicated bathroom in our home. Wifi and laundry are available. We have an indoor cat. Meals would be shared. We eat as locally as possible with attention to sustainability in our food choices. Meals include as much of our own homegrown produce as possible, homebaked sourdough bread, dairy from our goats, and meats and fish we raise or hunt ourselves. We can accommodate dietary requirements, but really appreciate when visitors embrace our local foods.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We'd love to host volunteers who have experience with kids and are eager to explore Haida Gwaii. The 20 hour/week volunteering leaves lots of time to get out and see this special place. We are happy to help you explore by lending a paddle board, bike or other gear. Having a car will help as there is no public transportation here. However, you can get around well by bike and needn't go far to enjoy some beautiful natural spots.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Wi-fi and living space suitable for those working remotely while staying with us.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have space to park a camper van, if needed.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 879326856221