Pigs, chickens, goats, sheep, lots of dogs and a self-sufficient lifestyle in Plum Hollow, Ontario

Country

Canadá

137 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    28  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    01/12/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    109

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a calm, easygoing but hard working couple who are passionate about stewarding our land and animals and providing the BEST food we can! Our heritage home sits on over 400 acres of forest, pasture, ponds and creeks within the Frontenac Arch Biosphere Reserve. We raise certified organic pastured pigs, sheep, goats, and various kinds of poultry. They are protected by four fluffy, gentle giant livestock guardian dogs. We also bake bread and treats which we sell at a weekly organic farmers' market in Ottawa. We would love to share our home and experiences with you.

    Learning to be self sufficient is important to us. We eat food produced by our own hands, smoke bacon and hams, make sausages, grow vegetables and fruit, make pasta and bread, mill flour, make soap and body care products, butcher animals for our own food, and process firewood to heat our home. We are even starting to learn about the medicinal properties of the plants growing on our land.

    Our motivation to do WorkAway is not only to have help on the farm but to meet new friends, learn about the world and different cultures, hear new ideas, laugh a lot and share our incredible lifestyle with others. Teaching the next generation about organic regenerative farming is very important to us. We prefer to host one person or a couple for stays of one month or longer. We offer you a large fully furnished private room, incredible food (mostly from our land) and great hands-on farming experiences. During your stay you will be treated as one of the family. We can pick you up from the Ottawa airport or from the Megabus or train terminal in Brockville.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We love showing off our farm and our incredible lifestyle. While staying with us you will learn all kinds of regenerative farming, self-sufficiency, and food related skills.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    There are a great variety of tasks we would love help with. We don't expect you to help with all of our tasks, just things suited to your skills and interests. No experience is needed just a willingness to work alongside us and learn. Our days typically start at 8 am to feed the animals. Late mornings and afternoons are free for exploring the area. We try to keep Sundays as rest and fun days. For safety's sake a good command of English is necessary.

    Typical jobs through the year include:
    - Feeding and caring for our animals
    - small building projects like new roosts, nesting boxes, pig shelters, etc
    -building new fences and a run in shed for our goats and sheep
    -cutting, processing and stacking firewood to heat our home
    - tending, harvesting and storing produce from the vegetable garden
    -loving on our livestock guardian dogs and our border collie
    - clearing and making trails

    We love learning from people too! Maybe you can help us set up a solar lighting system or watering system, teach us how to graft fruit trees, knit socks, make sausages, learn new recipes.....

    We are also interested in someone who would like a long-term stay to learn all about regenerative organic farming and develop your own product lines. Create your own garden, experiment with permaculture in our orchard, raise rabbits, value add to our meat, create something with the sheep fleece .....

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will stay with us in our farm house in your own private room. We share one bathroom.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Some fun activities we would love to share with you are visiting other farms, target and skeet shooting, hiking on the many trails on our property, swimming and boating on local lakes, visiting heritage sites. Every Saturday year-round we go to Ottawa to sell our products at the organic farmers' market. This would be a great place to meet other farmers, practice your French or tour the city. Toronto, Montreal and Quebec City are accessible via Megabus.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Find a secluded place on our 400 acres to call your summer home. We cannot offer hookups to water or sewer.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)



















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 852239776898