Help on a sheep and horse farm near Varmahlíð in the north of Iceland

Country

Islandia

1893 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/09/2019

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    52.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 12 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

     

  • Medallas

Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a small sheep farm in the north of Iceland. On the farm live me, my mother, 4 dogs, one cat, 11 chickens, 200 sheep and around 50 horses.
    I work half day outside of the farm But my mom is most of the time at home, do to her ages she needs help around the farm.
    The farm is located near Varmahlíð and is surrounded by typical Icelandic mountains.
    I speak fluent English, having worked with tourists and in hotels a lot. My mother cannot speak English, but she is a very good teacher to learn the Icelandic language.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en una granja
    Otra
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Animal care and farm work
    learn culture
    explore area
    enjoy

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need some one who can help around the house and farm.
    The fall and winter we need some one who can help with feeding the sheeps and horses, experience with horses would be a plus to help me train and ride young horses. During the summer time there are always horses around that need to be riden and worked on, and small horse trips is a possibility.
    In April there is preperasions for lambing season and in May and June there is lambing season and alout to do around that, in June there is the end of lambing season and work around the sheeps to prepear them for the mountains starts and then getting them to the mountains. July, August and September there is haying and things that need to be done around that and fence work that need to be done.
    In September there is roundups and then we go to the mountains and heard the sheeps whitc we do on horseback and bring them home. October and november (this depends on weather) we seperate the sheeps and lambs and work around the sheeps starts, prepearing the outhouses to acomedate the sheeps and seperate them for breading. Desember the breading starts and help around the sheeps and rams (whitch are good boys).
    Januar, Februar and Mars, there is clean up after the winter and all around maintainans for the houses and areas around, and alsoe for the sheeps, to get them ready for the spring, like shearing and such.
    All year around there is work to do around the house and outhouses, so there will usualy never be a dull time, things to take care of and fix and so on.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    Icelandic and English

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will get your own room but if we have another helper then you will share a room .
    We will live in the same house, so bathroom, kitchen and livingroom will be shared, you will just be part of the family!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    . There is Varmahlíð on 15 minutes drive and on 30 minutes drive is Sauðárkrókur. You can go horseriding, hiking, skiing, fishing, lots of outdoorstuff.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Krummi
Sheep one top of the hey ball.
This one is from Sheep round up.
Bringing the sheep home from round up and two horses
driving home the hay.
Seifur our dog
Our sheep at round up
Glanni and the boys coming home from riding tour







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 834135669473