Workawayers interested in rural Ontario, Canada.

Country

Canadá

47 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    85.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 10 dias

 
  2020 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    I live in a beautiful secluded country setting, with an outdoor sauna, farms on two sides. I am looking for workawayers interested in experiencing rural ontario with a mix of solitude and social time/cultural exchange. The work part of stay would mainly be helping me with house projects, putting in a garden in the spring, painting, yard work. No prior experience needed. There’s also opportunity to connect with the local arts community as I practise dance and circus arts and sometimes perform.

    More about me, I am 44 years old, and work as a mental health professional in the local hospital. My background is South Indian, I have travelled widely and have called Canada my home (or one of my homes) since 1997. I feel grateful to hosts who supported me during my travels, specially my stays in mediation centres in northern Ontario and farms in Holland and Quebec.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Práctica de idiomas
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I am involved in the circus, contact improv dance, clown, and local farming initiatives. There will be opportunity to experience these art forms (if so desired) and to connect with the art community in Peterborough, as well as experiencing the more traditional cultural aspects such as visiting local hobby farms, canoeing, seasonal festivities, getting to know Peterborough with its (pre covid) music events, yoga studios, and cafes.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Before the spring appears looking for focus on indoor projects like painting, small house fixes. As the ground thaws, then also option to help put in a garden, tending to the large yard.

  • Idiomas hablados

    English: Fluido
    Urdu: Fluido
    French: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Beautiful private room in a even more beautiful century home, nestled on an acre of secluded land in the hamlet of Indian River, 20 minutes east of the town of Peterborough, two hours North-East of Toronto. I am 2 km from the beautiful river we call Indian River - possibility for kayaking and canoeing to Rice Lake. Internet. Room has comfortable bed, window, bathroom is shared.

    I will provide breakfast and lunch ingredients. I will prepare all dinners. Food is mostly vegetarian, locally sourced when possible.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I go into Peterborough almost every day, other than that transport to the city is limited. Other local attractions include the Petroglyphs Provincial Park, countless lakes, Curve Lake First Nations art store, and Trent University.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 796847869967