Live with and care for rescue dogs in a private household in Langkawi, Malaysia



315 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Medallas

    Facebook verified

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hi I'm Nicole. I have 9 dogs, all of which are up for adoption except for my soulmate, the crazy jungle pooch, Paprika. The plan is for the two of us to go cruising on our boat once everyone else has moved into their loving forever homes.
    I have been rescuing privately for a number of years, funded out of my own pocket with the help of some very special and generous friends and family. The most fosters I have had at one time is 24, I'd need to sit down and figure out the overall number of rescues.

    I have a business looking after boats in the marina nearby and due to my focus on rescuing it has become a bit neglected. So I need your help with the care of my furfamily so that I can put more energy into financial support.

    I am not taking on anymore animals as I do not have the resources. In fact I have 3 Golden Rules:
    1. Always be kind, gentle and loving to each other. I think it goes without saying that I have a zero tolerance approach to abuse. A few of the pack have come from abusive backgrounds and it is our responsibility to rehabilitate them and help them feel safe.
    2. No new rescues of any sort. It is very easy to get carried away wanting to help every animal in need. Unfortunately it is currently unsustainable, I know this from experience! More rescues at the house means lowered living standards for the pack through lack of space and resources, as well as the risk of spreading disease. If you are interested in active rescue there are people in Langkawi I can refer you to.
    3. Secrecy is key. I prefer that our location stays private. This is because when people who are trying to help animals know of someone who has experience with rescues then they tend to dump animals with them. Thankfully I have only had one puppy thrown over the fence into our yard. I am sure you can appreciate how stressful this is for everyone.

    All in all we are easy going and fun. There is plenty of love to go around and a rewarding atmosphere caring for the pack.
    Thank you very much for reading!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Living with animals, being accepted into their pack, watching them interact and learning their subtle language and eventually communicating with them on their level is an incredible experience. They have taught me patience and how to be humble, control over my own emotions and to love unconditionally. They are quick to forgive and know how to live in the present. My pack has taught me so much.
    My lifestyle is also strongly rooted in sailing. The sea is one of the last places on this planet where you are the one in control of your own life, where one is free. For now we live on land but most evenings are spent with fellow yachties, who are a special and wonderful breed.
    And Langkawi overall is a place of nature, the people here are super friendly and have a relaxed way of life. It is a mostly Muslim community.

  • Ayuda


    Cleaning, cleaning, cleaning! Most of the work involved is cleaning. We health check and pick up the dog poo everyday, clean their food bowls everyday, sweep up any messed food after feeding to prevent attracting ants and rinse down any areas of dog pee as needed. We do a task most days with rotational raking of dirt areas and washing of each wood/concrete area for flea and tick population control. The dogs are on a fortnightly to monthly wash rotation depending on skin conditions and parasite population levels.

    Initially I need help maintaining the house; first up fixing around the house, some painting walls, creating new furniture for humans and for dogs. There are a couple small roof leaks and electrical problems as well so if you've had experience with general house maintenance that would be great.
    Then, maintaining the fences (clearing bush outside property perimeter) so that we can keep the place pest free - and filling their space with structures for them to play on and provide shelter. It is very important that they cannot get out as the house is on a road along which people speed.
    I also need help setting up a CCTV system and signs outlining the animal welfare law to deter people from harassing and poisoning my dogs.

    For The Pack I'll need help cooking for them and feeding them checking them for ticks and any health problems every day, bathing them and most importantly giving them lots of love and attention. (People who are not OK with handling raw meat, or don't like to get their hands dirty, should find a more suitable host!!! )
    Other than the above, please share your experience with friends and family in order to find homes for these furkids! You may even fall in love with one yourself and take a new soulmate home with you :)

    5 hours of work a day, best in the morning while it is cool or perhaps split into two shifts, 5 days a week. The dogs get fed once a day in the morning between 8-9 am. (People who can't wake up in the morning to take care of hungry dogs should also find a more suitable host !!! )

    Because I am mostly away, CLEANING the house and yards is an important aspect of the work required here, self initiative is much valued, and encouraged ... Basic everyday cleaning to maintain the place nice and neat is implied. The best people for this place are the ones who can actively contribute to making the place better than they found it!

    On the other side... as I myself wish to go sailing with my dog! I am looking for people who wish to live on this beautiful island, and make a life here... the place I provide will be rent free, and accommodations payed (water, electricity), and food for dogs is also covered by me. I require involvement into the dogs life, to be self sufficient, and the ability to maintain the house clean, neat and pest free!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Our house is pretty basic. Situated in the jungle, close to nature but still placed on a busy road.
    Two beds per room with a fan. One bathroom, western toilet and a cold shower, which in all honesty is way better - refreshing. It gets real hot here.
    There is a big kitchen with stove, fridge. We can cook at home with freshly bought produce from the market or go out for yum local food. As I mentioned, we do cook for the dogs.
    Local food is a lot of fish or chicken, noodles and rice, curries.
    Breakfast is coffee, juices, fruit and cereal. Eggs and toast with cheese if you'd like to cook.
    Lunch is sandwiches and salad at the house or local food out.
    Evenings there are fun markets, local food or dinner at the marina with yachty friends. There is basic food to cook at home as well.
    Cleaning up after yourself and sometimes after others is an important life skill and is essential in this household !!!!
    I can afford to contribute to food cost with up to 100 ringgit/week, which is good for one person, okayish for two vegetarians but insufficient for more than two volunteers at a time, so if more people join us, then food cost is shared between all of us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a waterfall and the best beach on the island 5 minutes drive from the house. In the other direction, about a ten minute drive, is another waterfall, another beach and the marina. The main bars are in Chenang, about half an hour away. I prefer to meet with friends and we often have parties on the beach.
    At the house I would prefer no drinking or loud music, we have one neighbor who has kids. They often play near the house. They are local Malay so won't touch dogs although they do have a few of their own.
    As for transport, scooter and car rental is nearby and reasonably priced. Otherwise you can tag along with me. It is good for someone to be at the house with the dogs most of the time to keep them company.
    Local sim cards can be bought cheap but you'll need your passport. I get good Celcom coverage at the house. I like human interaction and conversation so if you're a fan of gluing your phone screen to your face please find a more suitable host.
    There is a lot to explore on Langkawi, the island is steeped in legend and folklore. There are museums, go-karting, bowling in town an hour away and golfing if you're into that.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.5)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 771583924462