Help out at our pet boarding hotel for cats and dogs in British Columbia, Canada



427 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    94.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar


  • Medallas

    Top Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

  • Descripción


    Located in the beautiful Okanagan Valley, my husband John and I, Heather, own a mid-size pet boarding hotel (cats and dogs) for nearly 20 years now. In addition to our four-legged guests in the pet hotel, we also share our home with ten miniature schnauzers, two macaw parrots, two cockatoo parrots and three cute puppies. On the farmland surrounding our house, we have two alpacas, two sheep and a cow and her calf living here as well. We also own three horses of which two are rideable.

    We live within a 25 minute walking distance to the town of Armstrong. Our town has all the amenities of groceries, restaurants, pubs, and coffee shops. If you want more options drive 20 minutes to the city of Vernon or one hour to the city of Kelowna. The area we live in is called the North Okanagan which is home to many mountains, lakes, vineyards, natural hot springs and also biking, riding, and hiking trails. (see more information below)

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We are always keen to meet people from all over the world and get to know you and your culture. If you are willing to learn new things, we are more than happy to share our expertise in different fields with you.

    I, Heather, am a certified master dog groomer and lifetime member of the Canadian Kennel Club. We are breeding miniature Schnauzers and also show them.

    John has studied agriculture in Holland, is currently on local council and sits on agricultural boards in the area.

    Our pet hotel staff and we are always happy to help you to improve your English.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda


    We start work in the pet hotel at 8:00 am each day, 7 days per week. There are set hours for the pet hotel each day with different tasks to be completed depending on the time of day. Also, of course, all other animals on the farm need to be cared for 7 days a week but time off work for each workaway is always a priority if some of the days were long.

    We are looking for general help to help care for the animals like feeding, grooming, walking, playing with, and of course, cleaning up after them.

    At the moment we are especially looking for someone to help with the horses. For this work, we would like you to be an intermediate rider to help us exercise and train the horses. The third horse is a 26 year old mare. She is in good shape, too, and it would be great if she could be taken for a walk once in a while and also be taken as a second horse on a rope for shorter tours. The horses are very kind and easy-going. The younger one is about 8 years old and still needs some training, the other mare is nearly 17 years old now and it would be great if she would be exercised as she is used to the English and Western riding style.

    The general work in and around the house and the yard depends strongly on the season, of course. We appreciate it if you give us a hand with basic cleaning in the house and also cooking in the evenings.
    During winter time, there is snow removal to be done and in the summer since all of our grounds are landscaped, there is gardening work to do. Also, we might have some outdoor projects to do like putting in the garden, building a rabbit hutch, upgrading the fences and re-roofing the kennel building and house.

    We always want to make sure that you have a great stay and experience as much of what’s typical Canadian as possible. So in addition to food and board, we love to invite you to hockey games, shows or any other type of activity. Also, any work exceeding 20 hours a week will be compensated fairly depending on your skills and expertise as well as the type of work. Monetary compensation will require a valid work permit.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Holandés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We live in a three bedroom, three bathroom, two storey farmhouse on a few acres of land. The two guest bedrooms are on the second floor and one room has an attached toilet and sink. The main bath is located on the first floor. It has a shower, jetted tub, sink, and toilet that would be shared if we have more than one guest. We also share our home with the animals mentioned above and a piano so it can be a little loud.

    We love to have dinner together and if you are vegetarian or vegan, we absolutely respect your choice. We would just like to let you know that meat and dairy products are a big part of our diet. We own some ducks and chickens and use their eggs for our meals as well.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live just outside of a small town with bus service to two larger cities (Vernon and Salmon Arm, run a few times a day), close to shopping. The town of Armstrong has a swimming pool and some independent small businesses for shopping. Also there is a regional Hockey game every second week and during summer and autumn there are some local fairs, like the Pumpkin festival or rodeos.

    We are approximately 20 minutes (by car) from the city of Vernon where activities include movie theatres, bowling, shopping, swimming pools, and one hour (by car) to the larger center of Kelowna. There is an international airport located in the city of Kelowna. SilverStar mountain is one hour and a half away for winter sports and is accessible by car. There are also numerous lakes and trails for summer activities. Numerous hiking and riding trails are accessible from our back door.

    Don’t worry if bus services run sporadically, we always have a car here and can drop you off in Armstrong or Vernon if you want to go somewhere or visit someplace!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 753717741966