Come and help with our building and glamping project in riverside woodland in lovely Suffolk!

Country

Gran Bretaña

330 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    02/03/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    78.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 47 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

     

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are Dan (42), Lucy (40), Jim (36) and Harry (5) , a small family with our friend seeking help with a big project! We are extending and renovating our house in the wood and by the river in sunny Suffolk (4 miles from historic Bury St Edmunds, half an hour to Cambridge and about 1.5 hours to London). We also have woodland to fence and maintain and a tree house to build! We're hoping to get permission to start a glamping site in the wood in 2020. We work during the week in term time (Lucy teaches languages at a school; Dan and Jim work at a charity in London) and Harry is at school, so you'll have to be alright on your own at times, but we're a friendly bunch for family meals in the evening. We will offer a small wage for bricklaying, carpentry, plumbing, electrics, and plastering only, if we need them at the time of your arrival, as well as share our knowledge of the local history, culture etc if you are seeking to help with general tasks in return for a cultural exchange. Although we feel fairly remote and quiet here, we're actually very near to some lovely cities and towns - in addition to Cambridge and Bury St Edmunds, Norwich is within easy distance. The countryside is pretty here though, and we're near enough to some nice pubs and plenty of places to eat. Lucy speaks French and Spanish and we're very happy to help with you practicing your English skills as well as wanting to learn about other cultures ourselves.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Práctica de idiomas

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    French and Spanish are spoken here but we're also very happy to help with learning English. Culturally, the area is rich in Anglo-Saxon history, having some of the most historic sites in the UK nearby. Theatres, cinemas, music venues and seaside attractions (the coast is about an hour away), are all available. London is reasonably close on the train. We're very interested in developing a more sustainable and organic lifestyle and so would enjoy chats about those subjects too.

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Some of the help can be reasonably hard but also varied - general labouring, construction and trades such as carpentry, bricklaying, plumbing skills will all be very useful. But we're also looking for help with getting our 4 acres of woodland and gardens into shape - things like fencing, planting, cutting and also building structures like treehouses for the glamping! Fundamentally we have a lot to do but it's rewarding and fun too.

    We offer hosting for a minimum of two weeks with the agreement that either you or we can end the arrangement if it's not working out. Our ideal Workawayers have been flexible, easy to get on with, keen to fit into our family life, hardworking yet relaxed in the evenings, interested and interesting. We have made friends for life with Workaways who buy in to the ethos of a fair two-way exchange and who are as interested in learning about us as we are about them. If this sounds like you, we'd love to hear from you!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Italiano: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Double or single beds in private rooms in the house or on-site mobile home (a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom static caravan with its own shared kitchen and living space with a TV, heating and woodburner). Shared bathrooms.

    We provide cereal, bread and jam for you to make your own breakfast; soup and a roll for you to heat up for lunch (with leftovers from dinner for snacks); and a hot or cold dinner which we all share together. You are welcome to buy additional food for yourselves in our local town. We welcome offers to cook the evening meal and and will buy the food for you - we are always excited to learn about your cuisine.

    The house is basic but functional at the moment - clean and warm but not pretty! That's why we're renovating it!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a bus service into the local town and railway station. Time off can be spent here (reading by the river perhaps, or strolling in the nearby parkland), in Bury St Edmunds (a lovely town with a historic abbey, cathedral etc), or further afield by train (for day trips to places like Cambridge, Ely, Norwich and London).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Este anfitrión dice que acepta a viajeros con mascotas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 748982891471