Help on our new ranch in beautiful Northern British Columbia (near Prince George)

Country

Canadá

275 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/07/2022

 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello there! My name is Diane and my husband(Matt) and my 2 children (16 and 13 years), our 6 horses, 1 dog, 5 pigs, a hen house full of chickens and 3 cats live on a 160 acre property where wild life & fresh air is abundant. We are an active family with lots of activities that love to work hard together but also believing in playing hard together.

    I with my business partner run a successful horse riding program and also an equine assisted learning program where we teach valuable life skills using horses as teachers. In my free time I enjoy many of the equine sports activities in our thriving horse community such as cattle sorting, penning, cutting, trail riding, and gymkhana. In the spring, summer and fall our area has many experience levels of hiking trails that we love to explore as a family. This year we are also planting a huge vegetable garden and green house!

    We purchased this property - our new dream property - because my business has expanded and we needed more land. So we moved in last November 2016 to a property with no fences and in complete production with hay all around the house. That's when I decided the workaway program would be perfect for our family. As we love to travel a lot but with our new property and all the work that needs to be done we decided to bring travellers to us.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    I feel travellers can benefit from a Canadian cultural exchange in our home because we love to include all our workawayers in all our family activities and community events.

    For example on Sundays we always start our morning with a big family breakfast, and we love to go for long walks around our property and look for elk, moose, coyote, deer, grouse, owls, and hawks.

    We also have a very welcoming & busy community with lots of activities to join in on.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for help with building fences, building corrals, stables, painting ... In addition we're looking for help with general horse care, grooming, riding (only if you are comfortable), feeding the animals and gardening help (watering flowers, planting trees, vegetables and weeding).

    Generally I love to work along side Workawayers and learn about their cultures and get to know them. But also Workawayers must feel comfortable with being given instructions and work independently as I might be working while you were doing your tasks. If anyone has farming experience with heavy duty farming equipment or tractors they are very welcome here. As my parents also own a 160 acre farm in full hay and grain production as well.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a 5400 sq ft home. You would have your own room with your own bathroom in our house. We also have home gym that you have complete access to.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your free time you could travel by train to Prince Rupert and go whale watching or salmon fishing. In the other direction you have to possibility to take the train or bus to Jasper National Park and see the Rockies. Also, Fort st. James (45 minutes away) has a very neat and interactive Historical Native village to tour.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 743498318774