Help to reforest the land and to train our dogs at our place outside of Pune, India

Country

India

23 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    04/08/2022

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  1 mes o más

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a German couple, 57 (me) and 65 (Michael) years old - but much younger at heart! We have two sons, aged 22 and 24 who are not with us.

    After having worked for four years for a multinational in India and then losing the job in 2017, my husband and I decided to return to India and have a totally different second career. This involves building up a farm and for also doing some coaching and personal development work.

    We are afforesting a large piece of land land outside of Pune in Maharasthra with the ultimate aim to produce dairy products. We are at very early stages, applying permaculture principles where possible and are looking for like-minded people to join us. We have planted 15k saplings this monsoon season based on a mix of Ernst Götsch's Syntropic Agriculture teachings and the Miyawaki afforestation method.

    We are very open-minded and love having guests. We also have a place in Pune and commute between there and the farm so that there is always the opportunity to enjoy some city life besides the village/farm life. On the farm, we have 8 dogs and a team of local people working with us but are grateful for any support in applying and teaching permaculture principles. Permaculture is a conscious choice, but not a religion for us, so do not expect us to be 100% according to the book but rather pragmatic. Teaching our farm staff is major part of our daily interactions, starting with waste separation, keeping organic matter on the land, etc...

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We run a farm of approximately 7 acres as an agroforestry system. The farm is now 2 years old. We follow a mix of permaculture & syntropic farming principles, but are not religious about them.

    We have 8 dogs that live almost free as a pack - so fear of dogs is not a good thing to bring.

    We also have a few chicken and are planning to have other livestock. The work right now is around building infrastructure and establishing the agroforestry system - varying activities from designing to planting to pruning.

    What you can learn from us is
    a) a lot about Indian flora (from Antje)
    b) a lot about any kind of infrastructure work (from Michael)

    Life at the farm is very frugal - we eat what our ladies from the village cook, we rise with the sun and got to sleep when its dark. There are not entertainment opportunities within immediate reach. Pune is about 1 hour away and Antje commutes regularly.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for volunteers with a background in permaculture or syntropic farming. Have you done a PDC and would like to apply your knowledge or do you bring any kind of background in agroforestry, then its the right place.
    What you will find is a very diverse system (presently around tree 150 species), vegetables, fruit, etc. We collect seeds and propagate our own trees in our own nursery.

    It is very hot and dry here from March to June, very wet and warm from July to October. November to February are the most comfortable months for humans. Travelers should be able to adapt to the climatic circumstances.

    Also, you need to like or at least not be afraid of dogs - because there are 8 of them :-)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido
    Hindi: Fluido
    Italiano: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    On the farm, in a container house or a hut, amenities still emerging. Very basic. To bring a tent is possible.

    Food will be prepared by local women and is Indian vegetarian with a few exceptions, cooked mainly from vegetables and crops available nearby, so nothing processed or extraordinary. Most locals will have chicken or mutton on special occasions. Food is not vegan and to provide vegan food over a longer period would be complicated due to language barrier and difficulty to shop accordingly. Breakfast, lunch and supper will be provided.

    A small shop is available in the village but does not get you much other than cookies or chips or a soft drink. In Pune, any kind of food is available (during week-end trips e.g.).

    There is the opportunity to stay with us in our flat in the city - provided we get along :-), because it is rather small.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Transportation to Pune is available at least 3 days a week through us. There are also buses. There is not much to do in the vicinity of the farm, you will have to be quite self-sufficient and interested to observe nature and interact with the locals or us. Weekdays including Saturday are very busy days on the farm, Sunday is quiet. Network coverage is patchy.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 738989692147