Help us with restoring a traditional Norwegian fishing boat in Vinje, Vesterålen, Norway

Country

Noruega

137 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi, my name is Elin and I am the leader of a non-profit association that takes care of a traditional Norwegian fishing boat. Our mission is to take care of the boat and operate the boat so people can experience now and in the future what life did look like on a fishing boat in Arctic Norway. With the help of friends and volunteers, we do restoration & maintenance work on this fishing vessel. Because we are a charity organisation we are not allowed to sell fish for commercial purposes, sell trips or events. For funding our non-profit organisation we do regularly free trips with the people that donate or want to donate (for charity) to our organisation. Also in return, we serve them free seafood that we catch, prepare and serve to our donors. Next to that, we learn the kids of our donors how to fish. You can help us with taking care of our donors and friends, the boat and publicity.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can learn a lot about boats, maintenance, woodwork, electrics and other technical things. In general, you can learn a lot about Norwegian culture and more specifically the (rough) life of people living in a fishing community in the north. If you want to upgrade your level of English we can help you with that. No problem to teach you some Norwegian language. You will have plenty of possibilities to explore the beautiful nature around us and maybe see some northern lights during autumn and winter.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for people that can help restore and maintain a 48 feet traditional Norwegian fishing boat from 1948. The boat is named LIV and means LIFE in English. You need to have some handyman skills and feel comfortable with tools. The help that needs to be done is inside (interior) and outside. The restoration and maintenance involve cleaning, sanding, painting, working with epoxy, construction work, assisting with electrical projects (if you know something about that). Next to that, you can help us with sea-food meals (for our donors), hospitality work when we have guests (donors) on board and assisting in running free boat trips with our donors (non-commercial). The boat is located north of the Arctic Circle in an area named Vesterålen in northern Norway.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Norwegian bokmål: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will stay partly on our boat and in a house with views over the fjords and a beach. We will provide breakfast and dinner for you can help us with preparing food. Note that the climate in the Arctic is sometimes harsh and life on a boat is stripped down to the essentials. There is good mobile 4G coverage here but no WiFi onboard. There is a food shop close to the boat and a library where you can work, study and use the free WiFi. We have a no-smoking policy. So if you smoke this is not your place.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    If you are an outdoor person you have plenty possibilties to explore the nature and fjords of the Vesterålen. For instance hiking some trails or a mountain, go fishing or do some kayaking. There are buses a few times a day that can take you to nature areas further away and to the closest city (Sortland). A bit further away in Andoya you can book boat trips to observe whales and birds. There is plenty of history around here if your interested in that (including small museums and galleries).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 738951472244