actualizado  

Ayúdanos a llevar y restaurar nuestra granja cerca de las playas de Normandía, Francia

  • 1076 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 22 may 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    ===================
    We have been badly affected by storm Ciaran and are looking for help clearing storm damage mainly to trees on an ongoing basis. This is the main work available at the moment

    We arenow full untill the end of August. We will open bookings for September October in the summer

    ===================

    The work is physical and you need to be fit. We will work with you, 3.5hours either in the morning or in the afternon . You will be free the other half of the day. We offer great hospitality ( read our reviews) and expect energetic commîted contribution. Looking forward to hearing from you.




    The following is our generic profile write up,

    If you are practical, positive and energetic and like the idea of being outdoors, we need a couple or two friends to help with general maintenance work. We offer great hospitality, independent accommodation, great food and some visiting

    We are a French English couple, Alexandra and Ed. For a few years, we have been restoring our Normandie Farmhouse, while enjoying its produces, sometimes with the help of great workawayers. We live within 20 minutes drive from the main Normandy landing beaches, with 3 horses and 2 dogs and a few chicken. We are well integrated in the local village community and involved in local events. With one of us being French by birth, we can give you good insight into French culture and traditions, and help with progressing your French language if you wish to. Our main home language is English.

    If you are looking for outdoor work, are physically fit and happy to live the village life, we can offer you a warm welcome. We offer top class accommodation, and good meals, as well as a personal experience. Do not just take our word for it, read our feedback.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda en una granja
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Alex is French, active in local politics and local social activities. You will have a good insight into traditions and approaches of French people both in Normandy and from my native Alsace. Ed has a wonderful understanding of the landing history, and knows every local site, big or small, related to this historical event. He will tell you a wealth of things you might not know about your country's involvement in those events.

    We both love outdoors and have a good understanding of the seasonal demands of living off the land, which we are always happy to share. We are both educated to postgraduate level and speak several languages.

    If we feel you are sufficiently responsible, we will have no hesitation involving you in any job you might wish to. Depending on the job we are tackling, this might involve driving our small tractor or doing chainsaw work.

    We will always help you plan your exploration of the area, and will make an effort to show you local sites within our time availability.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We like couples or strong individuals to help with general maintenance. It involves working in the garden, lots of weeding, clearing any storm damage, strimming, spring cleaning the stables, and possibly a bit of painting if the weather allows. We will try to give you tasks that fit your skills, we have good tools and are happy to teach you how to use them if you wish to. If you are skilled with strimmers, chainsaw or paint brushes, or if you enjoy general repairs and would get excited about restoring an old lock to functioning, we would welcome your company.

    Most of the help we need is physical, outdoor nature. You do not need to be extra strong, but fit and you need to enjoy working outside, whatever the weather. You also need to be motivated to keep going, even if the task does not turn out to be what you expected.

    Work with animals could be available if you have experience, but will always be combined with other work, and will only be a small part of the day. If you do not have experience with animals but wish to learn, we are happy to share with you what we know about horsemanship, chicken keeping and dog training. One of us is bee keeping, and you are welcome to learn from us in this area too, if the season allows you can have some hands on.

    We privilege workawayers who can work independently, are responsible, and keep motivated at this.

    We will agree volunteering hours to suit you, but expect 20 committed hours a week.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    your fully equipped 70 square meters studio, with kitchen, bathroom and view on the fields. It is really very nice accommodation, far above what is usually offered. We do not let the studio commercially, so it is most likely to be available when you visit, and is plenty large enough for families.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our location is very peaceful, with a lot of wildlife, including house-martins and swallows, hawks, several types of owls and bats. It is however remote from any socializing. To enjoy your stay with us, you need to be looking for simple pleasures, such as the peace of the morning dew on the cow fields. We thrive on the peace of the area and live mainly outdoors, with radio or TV only rarely on. Wifi is plenty and of excellent quality / reliability with your own computer.

    Although we would not call ourselves permaculture experts, we use a lot of the local knowledge and methods to grow our produces. We try to look after Mother Earth and use minimal chemicals, both outdoors and in the house. A lot of our food is home grown, although we sometimes indulge in the delights of the local goods such as patisseries.

    We have varied, always seasonal, and nice food which I (Alexandra ) enjoy preparing in the French country tradition. We hope you will enjoy sharing it. We are not vegetarian but do not eat meat every day and if you are, we will enjoy adapting our meals for the duration of your stay! Normandy however is the home of dairy, and we would therefore find it more difficult to accommodate anybody who does not eat dairy products.

    Once work is finished, there might be the possibility for you to ride the horses if you are a rider, and borrow our bikes for an exploration of the area. Previous (very!) fit workawayer made it to the landing beaches by bike. We will help you plan your visits of the area, and we have always in the past taken workawayers to worthwhile sites of interest to them, but this is obviously depending on our availability. You are also welcome to join in our activities in the village, in which we take an active part.

    We only take one workaway ( or one couple) at any one time and pride ourself in looking after you well and giving you a personal experience. We welcome workawayers for their personality and the stories they have to share as well as for the work, and appreciate people with a positive outlook on life.

    We are happy to welcome long or short stays (one week or more), with an initial trial period of one week which will be extended if we all get along. Please let us know in your application when and for how long you are hoping to stay. For stays over 3 or 4 weeks we only consider workawayers with their own transport. We have recently had an excellent experience with a couple who joined us for 3 weeks and ended up staying close to 7 months. The independent accomodation we provide allows for this, and in this case we usually agree a pattern of morning work/ lunch together and the remainder of the day for you to organise. Unfortunately we have no feedback to/ from this couple as their membership expired while they were with us.

    Non smokers only - this is non negotiable ( hay is far too inflamable)

    If we decide to go ahead, we have a detailed briefing note to help you plan your trip.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have good internet connection, and have previously hosted a couple who worked online in their spare time

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of space for your own van. We must say however that previous workawayers who came in their own van, decided that after all the facilities and accomodation we offered were so good, that they would prefer to use them rather than their own.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We love pets and can accept some of them with previous agreement. We have a male and a female dog, both of which are sterilized. Life would be dangerous for cats, although we have hosted some previously. Please discuss your pet with us before applying

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 25 hours a week committed help

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 737645744277

Comentarios (21)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.8)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)
























House and Animal Sitting in the Dordogne, South West France
Help us with a restoration project on a maison de maitre in Gers South West France