Help with outdoor projects at my off-grid property on Lake Atitlan, Guatemala

Country

Guatemala

92 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/11/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 3 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    This property is a little sanctuary away from it all. The home is a five minute boat ride to Santiago Atitlán and for the right people it would be a great place to pass the time while things are changing in the world. I am usually looking for a couple who'd like to stay from a few weeks up to 6 months, but am also open to individuals who are looking for calm and solitude.

    The property is situated on the side of Volcán San Pedro and just across the bay is Santiago with its two volcanoes as our view. We have no neighbors, just gardeners who tend their fields nearby 2 or 3 times a week.

    My property is off the grid and boat access only so there are some special systems you'd keep an eye on.

    You need to be an experienced troubleshooter around a property who can tackle and handle a small problem should it arise. Those with solid experience working with water pumps and mechanics are especially welcome.

    I am looking for someone who doesn't mind jumping into the fray and helping out wherever it's needed. You may help water, replant the gardens, or just help where needed as there's always plenty to do in this large property. During the dry season, the most common task will be helping water the gardens with water from the lake. There is also a full-time paid helper (Spanish-speaking) and ideally you could help him where needed.

    You would have your own small house with kitchen and would cook your own meals. A big bag of vegetables costs only a few dollars at the market. Staples like condiments, herbs, and other basics are supplied and you are welcome to anything in season on the property, including herbs in the garden.

    Please let me know what kind of experience you have taking care of houses or building, renovating, gardening, hospitality, housekeeping or other related skills. You would also help out with other seasonal projects we'll be doing on the property.


    Transportation to and from the property costs approximately $4 one way to town for the 2 of you. It's only a 5 minute boat ride and we call a water taxi service to go back and forth. I also have a personal boat and am usually able and willing to lend it for rides.

    You must be prepared to pay for your own internet package for your phone or computer. Hotspotting through a Guatemalan Tigo plan is very common and simple; I can help you set this up.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You can explore the vivid Mayan culture of Santiago and its beautiful hand made textiles. Each town on the lake is unique with its colorful traditions combined with the flavor of the present time.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    You'll be taught how to use and maintain the off the grid systems, like water and solar.

    You'll be working to maintain flower and veggie gardens throughout the property. I am new to vegetables and fruits and would welcome any help and advice!

    There are always larger projects that come up during the year and while you are here you could be asked to help on things like rebuilding the dock (learning how it's done in the Mayan world), doing cement or stone work, working with compost and many things that need attention on such a large property.

    If you are talented in certain areas, you could be asked to contribute with redecorating, painting, varnishing, or woodworking.

    For photographers, artists or writers, this is a place where the sheer beauty of nature will astound you every day.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in a fully equipped cottage set beside and behind the main house. You will have everything you need, including a full kitchen, a solar hot shower, DVD player and tons of DVDs, a great fireplace with firewood and living room. The home is a bit older and basic but clean and with excellent views.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This position suits people who are happy to be on their own in a quiet natural environment. Santiago is only a 5 minute boat ride away and from there you can take a boat to any of the other towns. Each town is different and has its' own specialties and flavor. Climb one of the volcanoes for great photographic opportunities.

    This is more of a 'quiet time out in Nature' than a social venue as it will be you and the owner working together on the property. However, you are free to explore when you are finished working and on your days off.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Pets are situation-dependent, but speaking generally, I love animals and would expect most furries will be welcome.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Varying according to need - (max 25 hours)

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.7)

Intercambio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicación: (5.0)








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 737194941215