Off grid homesteading family and community project in British Columbia, Canada



19 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Descripción


    We are a family of 5, Papa- Sebastian, Mama- Cyra, Elias-6, Lorenzo-4 and Clara-2. We currently live on 72 acres 15 north of Golden, BC, alongside many of Cyra's family members. We live in an off the grid 3/4 length school bus transformed into a home! Can you say "who wants to play outside!!!?"
    We spend most days outside working, playing, jumping on the trampoline, having family bonfires, trying to work from home in a school bus and wrangling kids into the next, set thing for the day and loving the good Lord above through it all.

    About us-

    Sebastian is the kind of guy who likes to measure three times! He is a structural engineer by day, bullfighter by night, artist, salsa dancer, Latin American... Cyra says "boo ya!!?"

    Cyra is hippie offspring and loves all things natural, healthy and loves to learn the dirty work of driving heavy machinery, running chainsaws and doing all the well planned out things Sebastian tells her to.

    Our three little ones love to play around and be part of the action.
    Elias, 6, is very outgoing and will talk your ear off if you're willing to listen. He is so sweet, loves to learn and be part of the teaching of things, and is ALWAYS out to make a heart connection.
    Lorenzo, 4 would love if someone would play imaginary games and drive cars with him all day, he is a sweet, tender boy who loves to make you laugh and is a hard worker. He feels big feelings.
    Clara, 2, will smile at anyone and everyone who walks by, is exceptionally independent and you can often find her trapping between the different family homes on her own. She loves all animals and to be cold and Grampa.

    We are fluent in both Spanish and English.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Culturally we feel blessed and rich. Between Sebastian’s Latin American growing up, Cyra’s wild and wooly parents, our faith and our different professions and hobbies (everything from horse therapy to engineering to our love of the fine arts, to how the body works best to music) we are able to offer exposure in all these areas! We welcome any questions and great conversation.

    As for the actual situation of Golden, the town is an exceptional hub of all things rafting, hiking, climbing, and outdoors. The town itself is bustling and always connecting despite current COVID restrictions and there is a huge sense of small town community.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Projects for the summer! Wahoo!

    1. We have currently undertaken the project of a "fixer- upper" mobile home.

    Our goal is to have the current structure demolished by September/October. We are going to only keep the foundation. Anyone love smashing walls?

    2. We are building and prepping our pad up in an area of our land that is undeveloped. This means there will be a lot of tree hauling, leveling land, spreading gravel, bush whacking and tree fort building. We have a gradall that will do a lot of tree moving but we need hands in moving piles, cleaning small areas and chain sawing to prep for the mobile home foundation.

    3. On the child care side- A large part of what we need here is someone safe, kind and gentle to look after them while we workaway with the heavy equipment. We believe strongly in gentle, positive parenting and feel most comfortable leaving our kids in the care of people who value life at all ages and see the relationship as a give and take in both directions. In this area we will do more in-depth checking in order to ensure we feel confident leaving them in the care of others and that the other feels confident in caring for them. Ideally we will hope for someone with professional experience around kids.

    4. Cooking/Shopping- we love to eat well, healthy and learn new cuisine! So anyone who is willing to cook in our funky bus or outdoor kitchen is welcome to take on the task!

    We are fluent in both Spanish and English.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento


    We can provide a camper that can hold three people. Two in a shared bed and one on the kitchen table which converts to a bed.
    We do also have two tents we can provide if the group is larger than 3.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Though we live off grid, we have internet, it is satelite and therefore does not have different speed capabilities, however, Sebastian is able to work on his engineering software with it, so it is quite capable. It will stretch to your trailer so you could work in your own space.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We live on a glorious, though mosquito filled 72 acres and have lots of available space to park, both near us and far from us.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We are willing to accept any pet that is friendly and safe around very small children.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 732666254382