Help at our family's smallholding in Písek u Jablunkova, Czech republic

Country

República Checa

149 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    18  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    19/05/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    424

  • Medallas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Update Summer 2017:-
    So... we've hit breaking point (2 jobs and a young child) and decided to scale down operations... So The horses are gone, Sheep will be gone before winter. Half of our growing area won't be planted next year...
    BUT if there is someone interested (in gaining experience - before buying your own place or something like that), then I'm happy to take a couple for a whole season, e.g. all the land we aren't using will be yours to farm how you want. I can advise and transfer the knowledge I've built up over these last 10 years. As this situation is a bit different than the usual 2 week stay, we will need to chat via skype or similar before we can say yes...
    I guess it's unlikely anyone will take this offer up, but I'm just putting it out there...
    If no-one takes up the offer, we will continue taking volunteers for short periods as before, but with less animals and less growing area...

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    We (Simona and Damian) are part of an extended family, living in 4 houses on the same plot. We grow some of our own food, and keep 2 horses (soon to be 3), 7 sheep and poultry. We don't sell anything, just for our own needs and for friends. We brew our own beer, wine, and press our own juice. Sometimes distill harder stuff.

    I grow the veg, and own the sheep. My Wife had one horse, sold it, but when the foal is born, we will have a horse again, her sister has two. Her father looks after the poultry and grows crops in the fields with me. Her Mother has a small veg plot.

    We are not afraid of making our own tools, and have a home made tractor, and a soil trommel. The Open Source Ecology organisation / website is very interesting for me right now.

    Accommodation is in a 2 bedroom cottage we have built in the garden, Food:- you can either eat with us in the evenings, or cook for yourself (the cottage has a kitchen). Breakfast and lunch you will have to make yourself (we provide food). We are meat eaters, but have no problem cooking vegetarian if you are that way inclined.

    Internet:- We have Wifi in the cottage, and can lend you a laptop or computer for use in the cottage if needed.

    We live in a village with several pubs and shops, there is a small town 3km away, where you can get everything you need. The area isn't too spoilt (yet) although there are 3 small (international) supermarkets in the local town. We are surrounded by national park, so hiking 5 minutes away from the village. Mushroom foraging 3 minutes away.

    There is a strong regional identity to this part of the world, which contributes to the strong tradition in folk music / dancing and self sufficiency

    Our land (aside from our gardens) is @ ~1Ha Horse grazing, ~1Ha Sheep Grazing, ~1Ha Forest, ~0.5Ha crops.

    In our Gardens we have veg plots, a greenhouse, and very soon a passively heated/ cooled poly-tunnel.

    I work 9-5 in a nearby town, so are usually not around during the day (on weekdays), so this time is your own - although if you are happy to work on your own at these times, then I can give you stuff to do. We work in the garden/fields in the evenings/weekends.

    We have bikes which you can borrow. Occasionally a car.

    We are in the Village Pisek u Jablunkova, not the City Pisek

    If someone is already booked in on the dates you want, then it's still possible you can come (If you don't mind sharing the cottage), as the cottage has 2 bedrooms as well as a fold out bed in the living room.

    We have a page on facebook showing photos of what we have been upto through the years, just search for damianandsimona

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    .

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Working with Raised Beds - Palnting / Weeding / Harvesting
    Working with Row Crops, sowing, weeding, rotivating, harvesting
    Building Fences
    Looking after sheep
    Chopping Wood
    Lots of ad-hoc projects

  • Idiomas hablados

    Czech: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation is in a 2 bedroom cottage, It has a kitchen, bathroom, 2 bedrooms (a double with leads to a room with 2 singles), also the sofa in the living room folds out into a double bed. Heating is by a wood burner (which you need to light and feed wood into :) )

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In summer, there is a lot of events (live music e.t.c.) around here, in winter, there is just the pub / cinema e.t.c. Lots of hiking in this area. I have a media server which is accessable via wifi, which is full of (mainly english language) video / music / ebooks.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week, flexible / no pressure :)














Número de referencia de anfitrión: 698575244615