Help us to maintain our creative co-living space in Subang Jaya, Malaysia

  • Favourited 458 times
  • Last activity: 22 may 2024



 Min stay requested: at least 1 month



  • Description


    We are currently in a small suburb residential terrace house with a resident cat, running a conscious creative coworking+coliving+colearning space. In this small home, we only have 2 bedrooms for coliving, 1 craft room that Kevin uses for his woodwork storage, and 1 art studio that Elaine uses for her painting profession & for solo art retreats.

    About the help:
    For now, we need help in these areas
    1. Gardening - planting, repotting, beautifying the frontyard to make it cozy, watering & keeping the plants happy
    2. Backyard - remove weeds from dead climbing plants which requires sweating & probably hours in the sun if you don't want to deal with mosquitos
    3. Reorganizing our storage room, decluttering, relabeling
    4. Help us maintain the house cleanliness (toilets, kitchen, coworking area). (You've come to assist us, not the other way.)
    5. Daily - Feed our cat Ginger, clean her litter box & entertain her.
    6. Open the door for coworking guest (if there's any appointment) between 10am-6pm.

    Volunteers meeting our requirements:

    * Loves cat!
    * Values authenticity, conscious lifestyle, and believes in heart-centered connections & activities
    * Loves the quietness and perhaps uneventfulness of suburb lifestyle
    * Okay with being a house-sitter and occasional alone by yourself (if we need to travel)
    * Independent, able to quickly figure out ways to get around the neighbourhood on your own without much help
    * Clean freak (Often times, travelers are not the neatest person, but we need tidiness in an already somewhat messy/ creative home)
    * If you're generally a problem-solver in the household department, you'll be greatly appreciated

    About us:
    We are Kevin and Elaine, a Malaysian couple in our 40's running a conscious creative space while working on our own creative endeavors. Kevin, a vegan and animal lover, is an independent UI/UX designer turned woodworker, while Elaine, vegetarian, is a full time artist (painter). We both quit our IT corporate jobs in 2015 to pursue our long held dream to run a conscious creative space together.

    About the space:
    With the help of our awesome volunteers, we started operating since April 2016. On weekdays, we are open for coworking access to anyone who makes an appointment to come share the space with us, while the coliving guests have 24/7 access to the shared space. There are only two rooms upstairs that is available for rent to coliving peeps who liked our concept and wants to live and work in our environment.

    As for usual routine here, the shared space is our coworking space from Monday-Friday, while we run creative meetups and workshops (from external facilitators) in some weekends, for additional income. Elaine teaches intuitive painting workshop once a month, as she mostly spends her time painting upstairs or working on her laptop downstairs.

    We don't live in the house ourselves, but we come to work here everyday. Our home is just 15 minutes walk from here. Our adopted resident cat Ginger is coliving in this house though! So you have to love cats as she is super friendly with people.

  • Types of help and learning opportunities

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    You sometimes will find yourself co-living with other coliving guests/digital nomads here, but there may be times where you will be by yourself in between occupancies, depending on what the universe arranges for you during your stay here :). In the daytime, the space is generally visited by coworking guests and ourselves.

    If you are looking for meaningful, conscious, heart-centered and organic connection with a Malaysian couple who shares the same beliefs and visions about life, and if you trust synchronicities and that you attract what you vibrates, then we think we will learn a lot from each other!

    As part of the local creative community ourselves, we are always supporting other locals in their creative endeavors and events. You will get to join us in attending art, conscious and social events together as a team as that would be the best way to be immersed into the local culture. We also run weekly in-house community events, with themes of conscious creative lifestyle.

    Moreover, our space is created for the conscious & the creatives, you will definitely find a crossover of local artists, entrepreneurs, writers, and eco-centric earth loving people passing by our space!

  • Help


    As we are only 2 person, you will likely be our fabulous Jack or Jacqueline of all trades here, with a focus on helping us with maintaining & managing this creative space. As our passion careers grow, we could use an extra hand to lighten our loads in handling multiple tasks that could get overwhelming at times.

    Your regular duties include
    - Cleaning up & upkeep the cleanliness of the space (due to the activities we run here,and because of a cat, we need frequent vacumming, wiping and dusting)
    - Run some local errands for us (buying household supplies, etc)
    - Assist us during our workshops/ events that we run here (eg. videos, photos, insta story, cleaning up, welcoming guest)
    - Keep an eye on our beloved cat Ginger (help with feeding, cleaning litter box sometimes), and do not let her escape as she is a fully indoor cat.
    - Be part of the us as a family while you are coliving here!

    You should be an English speaker, and this position is best suited for you if you are an 'ambivert' that can switch between being our goto-person during the times your help is needed when things get busy, and as we are an introvert couple, we promise to leave you alone when you need to tune out from the busy-ness of the day. The volunteers that are a great match for us are usually people who are into what we're doing and can gain knowledge from learning and helping us, at the same time also have their own thing to work on the laptop during the downtime.

    (As we have tried working with volunteers that don't have at least a phone or tablet for communication before, we realized that it is hard to manage the space, running events and the coliving schedules here without a contact tool. So, we decided to make it an important requirement to have your own phone, or computing devices so we can use our app tool for tasks management together with you.)

    Don't worry about time, because we are flexible. There are times that nothing much needed to be done in a day and you will be left with all the time for yourself! If you are up for helping us in our external projects out of the house, we would be super glad for the extra hands!

    If you're interested in running an intentional creative coworking/coliving space and learn together with us as we grow, this will be the right workaway for you!

  • Languages spoken

    English: Fluent
    Malay: Fluent
    Chinese (Mandarin): Fluent
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fluent
    German: Beginner

  • Accommodation


    We provide accommodation in exchange of your time, as well as friendship and true open hearted and conscious connections with the right people.

    You'll be staying in one of our coliving rooms upstairs - A private room with a comfortable single bed which we built ourselves, a ceiling fan (no AC) and a set of hand-built wooden workspace (desk & stool). Perfect for the minimalist and light traveler. (We only have 3 bedrooms in this small house)

    There is a pantry for tea or coffee and a small basic kitchen for basic cooking, with some pots and pans, rice cooker, & bread toaster. We don't provide meals. Since you will be living among the locals in this quiet residential neighborhood, you will experience how it is like living as a local here. We will show you where to get cheap and economical local food around here, as we ourselves love to have our meals there too. (Priced around RM7 per meal.)

    Occasionally, we have volunteers who love cooking and meal sharing, and we even invite the local community to join us on our meal share nights, of which we pay back the chef for ingredients & the loving effort! Those are really fun communal affairs.

    When you contact us, we will describe you our house rules, and you need to agree with our house rules before we can take you in.

  • What else ...

    What else ...

    You can enjoy sight-seeing activities around Kuala Lumpur during your free time, as we are only 25km away from the city center. There is a park 2 minutes from the house where you can access anytime for exercise or mingle with the locals. Convenient store/ 7-Eleven 5 minutes away. 10 minutes from the house, there are plenty of shops around for your everyday needs (banks, pharmacies, fruits+groceries, telcos, fastfood, cafes,restaurants, pizzas, etc)

    The LRT system is about 20 mins walk from here, there are also free public bus for getting around the neighbourhood. Otherwise, GRAB is the most efficient mode of transportation at our suburb. Public buses are also available to get around, if time is not the most important factor for your commute.
    Most of our travelers prefer walking around to reach entertainment destinations within the suburb, eg : the cinema, restaurants, pubs, cafes, shopping malls, waterpark etc. when the weather is good.

    Since we are a couple, we value our private evening time. So, you will have the evenings mostly to yourself.

    You may join us occasionally during meals and short trips, of course! We enjoy showing our beloved city to travelers, and very often they are surprised and intrigued by Malaysia and Kuala Lumpur, as it is often not the way the city is imagined before they arrive. We also love sports, so we would love you to join us in our swimming, hiking, running, cycling and other sports activities if you are up for it!

  • A little more information

    A little more information

    • Internet access

    • Limited internet access

      Limited internet access

    • We have pets

    • We are smokers

    • Can host families

  • Can host digital nomads

    Can host digital nomads

    If you have a fulltime remote career, our space is indeed suitable, as we are an in-home Coworking & Coliving space with weekend community events. We have the option for half volunteering as a paying coliving resident at a discounted coliving fee, which works out for those who need to work fulltime and still wants to volunteer. However this option is not available via this platform, you may contact us or search for us online (The Hatchery Place) to discuss.

  • How many Workawayers can stay?

    How many Workawayers can stay?


  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Host ref number: 676662825739

Feedback (5)



Come and learn more about yoga while staying with me in Mont Kiara, Kuala Lumpur
Help clean up the Waterfalls in our retreat house in Merbok, Malaysia