Help an artist create an online presence in Alajuela province, Costa Rica


Costa Rica

270 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Super Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Hi Guys: Before we start, we are all aware of the current Global COVID virus situation which had put a serious crimp in international travel. However, as these restrictions are now gradually lifting, we'll welcome your inquiries and give you the opportunity of visiting our wonderful Country. Pura vida.

    Hello, I am Peter & together with Lynnette, we live in our own paradise amongst the hills above the town of San Ramon in the Alajuela province of Costa Rica. We are a retired Canadian couple living in a custom built, new, house with all the modern conveniences next to an updated, self-contained casita which would be suitable for either a couple or single person. The Casita has one queen-size bed. We share our home with a very friendly Labrador named Ben and a lovely tica cat named Piña.

    The landscape here is dramatic with sweeping valleys and views to the Pacific Ocean. The sound of birds are ever present. The property is located a short five-minute drive into the town of San Ramon. There is also a frequent local bus service and you are more than welcome to hitch a ride whenever we head out.

    Lynnette is the creative mind and often found in her stand alone studio next to the house. She works with many mediums to create one-of-a-kind pieces which she integrates onto everything from silks to video streams. Marketing her work is quite a challenge, here in Costa Rica, so help in this area would be much appreciated.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in a mixed community of friendly local and ex-pat residents surrounded by a natural cloud-forest environment. Our region is at about 3,500ft, where the climate is temperate rather than tropical, with lots of sunshine and fresh air and an average temperature of 23C (74F). We are currently entering the rainy season and expect a little rain each day , mostly in the early afternoons. The town of San Ramon is centrally located and a good base to explore the central valleys of Costa Rica. The city itself is a bustling hub rich in history with beautiful architecture including the museum and adjacent cultural center. Current COVID restrictions may limit access to these features right now. As with all Costa Rica cities, the center is marked with an impressive church and tree-filled park - a great place to sit to watch the locals relax.

    This opportunity is ideally suited for those wanting to awaken, flex or develop their artist hands whilst helping immensley on the technical side. Lynnette's studio is filled with materials, items & pieces to inspire. She has a vast wealth of knowledge and is always experimenting with different mediums. There is a great energy here and Lynnette encourages others to let loose and try. Lynnette's mantra is 'There are no mistakes in art' and lives with the eternal question "but what if...?"

  • Ayuda


    Although Lynnette is quite adept at manipulating her work with an editor program, she is self-taught and would like to further her knowledge of capabilities in the programs she uses. More importantly, there is a great need to get her work out to the world wide web in a marketable and controllable fashion including building up her existing website to allow online purchasing. Lynnette currently enjoys showing in various art shows but lacks the digital organization that works with her creative mind to keep her work easily accessible. The daily hours and work times are very flexible.

    Type of help required:
    Electronic organization of data and portfolio
    Continue to develop artist's website and use of Vimeo platform
    Online marketing
    Spanish language practice (optional)

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento


    The self-contained casita was extensively renovated when we built our new house and is incredibly comfortable with high-speed internet, solar-powered hot water and a modern septic system. Upstairs, you'll find a loft bedroom with small desk, sofa, TV and queen-size bed. There are screens on the windows and no need for a/c as the breeze that blows through keeps the whole casita fresh and airy. Downstairs is the bathroom with shower, kitchenette and dining area. Bedding and towels are provided and the adjacent main house has a washer and dryer available for use.

    Lynnette is an amazing cook and you'll be welcome to share some meals and stories from around the world. Alternatively, you can cook your own meals in your Casita. Whatever you wish.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As previously mentioned, there is a local bus service that will take you into San Ramon and wherever else you may want to go but I'll always be happy to help out with a ride whenever needed. The city is bustling with great architecture, rich history and, of course, the central church landmark. There are also many pubs, restaurants and cafés to sample.

    Directly across the road from our home, you'll find some decent and challenging hiking paths which lead up to a peak where you'll feel on the top of the world while getting a 360 degree view of the whole region. There are beautiful wildflowers and no two walks are ever the same and 'Ben' will always be pleased to accompany you. Only two doors down is a convenience store, open early til late, with almost everything you may need. They are very friendly.

    Day trips to local attractions including coffee plantation tour, animal rescue center, plant nurseries, etc., are quite close and the nearest Pacific beaches are only a short 45 minute drive to the west.

    Creating art in the studio will be inspirational to building Lynnette's on-line business and a great way to spend free time.
    As retired world travelers, we both have a laid-back, 'pura vida' outlook on life and enjoy meeting new people. I suggest googling 'pura vida' for a better understanding of our Costa Rica lifestyle.

    We have spent some time exploring Costa Rica and, to a lesser extent Panama and Nicaragua and are happy to share our experiences and recommendations.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    four hours per day, four days per week maximum. Flexibile and negotiable.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 667987556961