Teach our kids Spanish and sail round the Caribbean and Central America

Country

Granada

147 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    89.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 13 dias

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a British family who are travelling around the world on our sailboat, a Moody 46 called Gambler. We left the UK in September 2020 in search of adventure, cross-cultural experiences, more sustainable living and an alternative childhood for our two girls aged 7 and 10 years. For the past year have had an incredible time cruising around the Mediterranean, visiting Spain, Italy and Croatia. We are now preparing to cross the Atlantic with a view to spending a few years in the Caribbean and Latin America, with plans to explore many different countries including Martinique, St Vincent & the Grenadines, Grenada, Bonaire, Columbia and Panama.

    Please read our profile FULLY before getting in touch with us :-).

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Enseñanza
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will have the opportunity to sail around some of the most beautiful places in the world. You will be immersed in nature and outdoor living and will have the chance to do a huge range of water sports in stunning locations. You will have the opportunity to learn how to sail - we would be delighted to teach you. Depending on our cruising plans, you may get the chance to cross oceans, visit new countries and will absolutely discover the realities of "living the dream".

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are looking for a FLUENT SPANISH SPEAKING ONLY energetic and enthusiastic person or couple to join our crew aboard SV Gambler, participating in our daily family life and adventures. We would ideally like someone who is a NATIVE Latin American.

    One of our main goals in Latin America is to improve our Spanish language skills and so we are looking for native Spanish speakers who are also fluent / advanced in English. Our new crew member will be closely involved in supporting our two daughters with their daily learning activities, teaching them Spanish as well as playing games and organising fun activities, sports and visits in the water and on land. You will also contribute to daily chores on the boat as part of our team (mainly cooking and cleaning although you'd be more than welcome to get stuck into boat maintenance and upkeep if you are interested!).

    Wherever we are, you will join us on our sightseeing trips and hikes (we love hiking!) and with our water fun (snorkelling, paddle-boarding, swimming etc). The right person will be super friendly, fun, easy going, self-starting, independent and clean (we live in a small space so need people who are tidy and clear up after themselves!). You will be someone who loves the outdoors, immersion in nature and exploring new places. You will have experience working with kids, preferably in a role where you have supported learning / done some teaching. If you’re musical, that’s a bonus as the kids play instruments. Specific sailing experience is not necessarily needed but some exposure to a water-based life, boating, surfing or other water-sports activities is important.

    We are looking for travellers to join our crew for between 3-6 weeks starting in July 2022 when we will be in Grenada. Applicants with flexible travel dates are preferred and we can take crew at various times during 2022-2023. Our plan will be to sail to Dominican Republic / Cuba / Mexico / Belize and Guatemala during 2023.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will be accommodated aboard our Moody 46 sailing yacht and will have a bedroom in the forepeak (double). Our boat is a 46' monohull which sleeps 8.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    As you will see from our Facebook profile (search SailingGambler), we are an active family, love exploring historical sites and enjoying nature. On our boat, we are experienced and conservative sailors and safety is the highest priority. We have strict rules regarding what can and can't be done on the boat (often for safety reasons) and the Skipper's word is final - so we need crew coming onboard to understand and respect that.

    We appreciate people who are highly communicative about their needs and what they can / can't do - so a high level of self-awareness is helpful. We are passionate about learning (us grown-ups always have some kind of learning project on the go) and we love to see our children discover new thing. As such we welcome ideas from our crew, and new skills and areas of expertise to be introduced to us - so if you have something great to teach us that's fantastic!

    As we live in a small space and are together A LOT of the time, finding personal space on the boat (reading books / listening to music etc), and on shore (going off exploring alone, going for a paddle board etc) is important. We will encourage crew to disappear, explore for themselves and enjoy their personal time discovering what the local country has to offer.

    Please note that because of intermittent internet access, we may be slow to reply to you. Sorry in advance!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 665283484683