Help around the house, garden, office and with animals in Plettenberg Bay, South Africa



132 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 5 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
  • Descripción


    Accomodation offered for easy going, non uptight, non neat freak, vegan friendly, animal loving volunteer in a rustic farmhouse in a beautiful valley in the jewel of the Garden Route crown - Plettenberg Bay.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You will meet good down to earth people here, of different creeds and cultures, getting on with creating a harmonious new South Africa. Depending on which activities you choose, there are so many new skills to be learnt, and a real need for animal and human humanitarian assistance in the area.

    There are wildlife rehabs for big cats, raptors and sealife in the area.

    You will get to meet a cross section of society here, Xhosa, Zulu, coloured and Indians are part of the community, as well as people from neighbouring African states, living in harmony, despite their divergent cultures. They love to share their traditions with others. We have 2 Malawians living on our property. Many local and international travellers visit the Garden Route, so there is opportunity to mingle with a diversity of people and cultures.

    We have a small indigenous forest on our property, but the area is known for its magnificent forests, with some ancient big trees and beautiful hiking trails. There are also several boutique wine farms in the area, so perfect for anyone interested in the art of wine. The Garden Route is known as one of the safest areas in the country.

    Volunteers will have enough time off at their request to explore, go to the attractions and meet other people.

  • Ayuda


    We stay on a smallholding in a pretty valley just outside Plettenberg Bay. Looking for someone creative in the kitchen, who loves animals, and is not afraid of snakes, ticks and spiders, who can also assist with personal admin, such as sorting and scanning photographs etc. There is some physical and manual work involved, and volunteer needs to be able to do practical things like make a fire, put on a gas heater etc. Would also like to get a veggie garden going, and weeding is a constant activity.

    Although the kitchen is vegan based for humans, volunteer needs to be prepared to work with meat for the dogs and cats. 2 of the dogs are special needs children. Meal prep is only for yourself and either one or two adults.

    Someone skilled in dressage would be awesome, we have a mare in dressage training under going rehab from injury, and she can be ridden occasionally when her trainer is not woring with her.

    Volunteer if needs be to farmsit and petsit along with Ester if we have to go to Cape Town, PE, Gauteng etc.

    There are wildlife sanctuaries, commercial farms, eco friendly businesses, wine farms and livery yards for those who would like to work with horses, all in a 25 kilometre radius and Plettenberg Bay attracts international and local tourism just about all year round. In our area, a new tourism route is being planned, harnessing the creative skills of the disadvantaged communities, combined with opportunities to grow their own food, and promoting eco tourism.

    It's a must to be environmentally, energy and water conscious. We only have rain tanks, and are having a minor drought, so it is vitally important that the volunteer needs to be very aware of water saving, something like the Cape Town day zero scenario:). Please check with me first if you are not sure what this entails.

    Volunteer should be prepared to use their own initiative and work on their own occasionally, as I have fibromyalgia and other physical difficulties.

    They are also free to do a little bit of tidying if the urge grabs them. The farm is quiet and peaceful, with not many humans around, so for the nature lover, not the socialite who needs to be in a group of people.

    We go into Plett town or Knysna on a weekly basis normally.

    A typical daily schedule would look something like this: feed and see to cats, dogs, chickens and goats, walk and play with dogs, weed, make brunch, clean tack, chop firewood, cut down trees, weedeat or the other work as described. See to animals in the evening, make supper. Meals are fairly simple, we will try new recipes occasionally.

    Days, weekends and mornings/afternoons off are freely available on request. Volunteers please to read all the information carefully to make sure they have no unrealistic expectations on arrival.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Afrikaans: Fluido
    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    A choice of 2 private bedrooms, with en suite bathroom. Rest of the house is shared. Food is included. WiFi and Netflix is available.

    You will share the space with friendly dogs, goats, chickens and cats who like to welcome visitors! The dogs and cats like to sit on human laps! Most of the animals are rescued or adopted, and share the furniture. So a love and understanding of animals is a must!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The Garden Route is a sought after tourist destination, with too many attractions to mention.

    We have a rustic farmhouse built from reclaimed materials and neat freaks will find the house a bit chaotic!

    Hiking, swimming, surfing, fishing, cruises through the world famous Knysna Heads, wine farms, horse trails, mountain biking, ziplines through forests, kayaking, river rafting, game viewing, various extreme sports such as bungy jumping, interesting craft and food markets, shopping, medical facilities, are all in close proximity.

    The famous tourist towns of Oudsthoorn, George, Mossel Bay are a short trip away, with Cape Town and Port Elizabeth a flight or bus trip away.

    Important : volunteers can request time off to go exploring and meet the people of the area. There is no public transport from our farm, but there are cabs and cheap taxis from about 3 kilometres away and neighbours are accommodating with lifts.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?


  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Daily mornings and evenings seeing to animals, preparation of 2 meals a day, a few hours of work during the day. Volunteer can ask for days off.

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (3.5)

Intercambio cultural: (3.5)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 659848629157