Come and help us on our small ecological farm and learn about subsistence farming on Southern Vancouver Island, Canada

Country

Canadá

119 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/12/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Learn subsistence farming on a century farm with 15 acres of sunny escarpment with almost 360 degree views, maple forests and river swimming. Join us on our daily rounds, running the farm and still have lots of time to explore this stunning part of the world.

    We are a small ecological veg farm and also have a herd of a half dozen friendly cattle and several building projects on the go. The 2 of us are pioneer spirits, at it for a long time and starting to feel it. Between us we have over 60 yrs homesteading experience and lots to share, if interested. One of us is also a seasoned carpenter and is a gentle teacher -an opportunity to work alongside and learn.

    Looking for folks who are physical types by nature, willing helpers and fluent in English. On the farm we work hard and schedule the day so that everybody can still have lots of time to enjoy this piece of paradise. Beautiful walks on farm, river swimming, amazing sunsets and star-gazing big skies at night. Lifestyle is really important to us and we like to have fun.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We love hearing about people's travels and their home countries and food. One of us has done volunteering in NZ so that we'd know what it's like to be on the other side of the exchange.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We really want you to have a good time while you're here and will offer variety as much as possible. We need help with crops -there will be seeding, hoeing, mulching, picking crops. There might be some building, trail work, land stewardship, fencing, firewood, etc. People with carpentry or farming experience would be great but positive attitude and willingness to learn is important too. The trade is 5 days/week at 5hrs/day. We are hoping for 2 week stays.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have a private self-contained cottage to stay in with hot shower, flush toilet, fridge, stove and sleeping for either 2 together or 2 separately, if travelling together. Pairs work well for us, gender irrelevant and we are very rainbow friendly. You tell us what you'll be needing for groceries for the week so you can do your own cooking in the cottage. You will be comfortable and eat well and we have lots of yummy fresh fruit and veg growing on the farm in season too. Once a week we like to share a dinner together at the farmhouse.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our farm is on the bus route and for $2.50 it's possible to go so many places. Cowichan Bay village, Chemainus street murals, the Totem pole tour or the Saturday Farmers Market in Duncan, winery tours, craft breweries, music festivals, kayak rentals, hiking, lake swimming, use of our bicycles. The city of Victoria is an hour's drive or bus ride. We go once a week on deliveries and a ride-along is sometimes possible too.

    Because of the extreme forest fire risk in summers, we can't take smokers; sorry but it's just too risky.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 655859638682