Help around our place in the small rural town of Pongaroa, New Zealand

Country

Nueva Zelanda

52 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    17  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    28/09/2020

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    319

  • Medallas

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Help on a working New Zealand Sheep and Beef Farm. We are a young family starting out in the sheep and beef industry in a small rural town of New Zealand. Pongaroa is on Route 52. We are 14km from the heart of Pongaroa which has a pub a farm store, various sporting clubs a general store, school and preschool, fire station etc. We are surrounded by the beautiful Puketoi Ranges and are situated only 38.5km from Akitio Beach. Just down the road (8.6km) is the beautiful Waihi Falls a must do when travelling through the Dannevirke region. There is ample hunting and fishing as well as many bushwalks within a short distance.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We like to treat visitors to the farm as part of the family introducing them not only to our way of life on the farm but to those of our extended families as and when it is possible. We like to visit the beach; fishing and diving for seafood (kai moana) as we can. Tim likes hunting when he gets the time and we have been known to get wild deer (Tia) wandering through the property.
    Our main goal is to get our “farming story” out to the world. To show people what happens on a typical New Zealand Sheep and Beef farm. We ourselves are still learning but we are happy to answer any questions and to give you as much of a hands on experience as possible.

    We not only like to teach those who visit our little slice of paradise but we also like to learn from them and introduce other cultures to our 3 girls.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are an owner operated sheep and beef farm 585ha and there is always something to do. We have 3 gorgeous girls 6, 3 and 2 who are just at home in the mud as they are in their pretty tutu dresses. We have a variety of jobs that need doing and they can be tailored to that of the individuals skills as well as giving the individual an opportunity to try something new.

    Gardening there is an extensive garden if you have a green thumb and like getting out and messing around in the soil. A vegetable garden that is always filled with the best of intentions and then ends up out of control always needs wrangling into submission.

    House cleaning if pottering around inside tidying is more your cup of tea with a family of 5 plus visitors there is always plenty of straightening up to do.

    Childcare if you are happiest looking after children rather than mucking in on the farm Erin is quite happy to head outdoors and lend a hand when it is needed or to share the care of our daughters.

    If you prefer to move further out on the farm there are always plenty of jobs to do out and about

    Fencing assisting Tim with maintenance and sometimes new installations of fences around the farm.

    We also have a number of farm dogs a horse (semi-retired) and pony (10hh) pigs, chickens and 2 house cows which provide the farm with milk.

    Weed control thistle spraying and grubbing to control the pesky weeds so that it makes way for the more desirable pasture to come through for the stock to eat.

    We are expecting 4 hours of help per day over 5 days.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We are offering an outside room with a queen sized bed with easy access to a shower and toilet. There is an ability to have a television set up in your room which is also fitted with underfloor heating. All meals will be with the family. We are a meat producing farm running sheep and beef so meat will be served at most if not all meals and most of it will be sourced from the farm. When it is under control the vegetable garden provides the majority of our vegetables.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Our farm is remote; 52km from the nearest public transport. We are in Dannevrike regularly with our daughters sport and activities so it is possible to be taken in and out of Dannevirke however your own vehicle would be an advantage. We have native bush on our property which visitors are welcome to explore. As mentioned previously we are 38.5km from the nearest beach which offers fishing diving and a small surf break. There is also a reef that one can explore at low tide. There are a number of bush walks in the surrounding area that can be explored as well as the beautiful Waihi Falls which can be an ideal place to laze away a summers day. Pukaha Mount Bruce national Wildlife Centre is an easy 1 1/2 hours drive from us as well which is a nice way to interact with some of the native animals found in New Zealand. We are a 1 hour and 45 min drive from the center of Palmerston North if you choose to head in and explore for the day.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Being a farm we have plenty of space to park a campervan if you prefer to spend your time in your van however we do not have any ability to plug in to electricity for the vehicle.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)













Número de referencia de anfitrión: 648758439232