Help out on a small homestead and artistic space in Selma, Alabama, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado   Última hora

69 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 1 dia

  • Medallas

    Good Host
 
Eso es una oportunidad de última hora: En la lista de última hora encontrarás anfitriones que necesitan ayuda inmediata en este momento, además de en otras fechas a lo largo del año.
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Our home is a small scale, farm and artistic workspace. With an expanding garden and near term plans to add pigs, cows, bees, and an orchard, we are in the first growth stage of turning the land into a homestead. Any experience working with animals, gardens, machinery, construction, cooking, preserving, etc... are helpful, but a desire to learn is most important!

    Also, there is a large dog, Ulysses, that lives on the property. He's a kind guard dog, and folks that know him love him, but anyone who may have an aversion towards large dogs should be aware.
    Pets are considered on a case by case basis. They must get along with other animals, including chickens.

    This is for a non-paid position. Room and staple foods will be provided (flour, sugar, beans, rice, oatmeal, etc...) along with vegetables, eggs, and meat from the farm when available.

    Current Projects Include (Updated May, 2022):

    -Designing and Building a Barn for Goats and Cows
    -Constructing a Pig Enclosure and Shelter
    -Begin Plans on a Greenhouse for continued expansion of gardens
    -Deconstructing an existing barn to salvage and reuse material
    -Improve the Designing and Planting of the Herb and Flower Garden
    -And an endless number of spontaneous, Creative Projects. (Building Wind Chimes, Garden Signs, Furniture, Swings, Sculptures... Anything unique to make our place special)

    (A project recently pitched to me was to start a Youtube channel about our lifestyle while detailing the design and build process a working farm. I don't have experience creating or marketing content like this, but it's interesting to me. If this is something you are familiar with, let me know what you think.)

    If you feel called to any of our projects, or if you simply like being helpful among good people while enjoying the peace and beauty of nature and learning about a new place, please reach out! You will be appreciated.
    We generally work lightly throughout the day (in the shade when it's too hot), then sit around the fire in the evenings playing music and conversing. Or having an occasional movie night. (With popcorn of course)

    It's a relaxed atmosphere that we like to operate in. Relaxed but productive. Remembering to enjoy the process.

    David, Owner

    *This is a family farm/homestead. We are not at this time selling our products.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Located in Selma, Alabama; The rural southeast has a unique place in U.S. history that will pique any history enthusiasts interests. Also, with a culture of "Southern Hospitality", and an often overlooked natural beauty of woodlands, creeks, rivers, and rolling grasslands it is an easy place to get that feeling of "Home". The biggest surprise past visitors have expressed is "How friendly and kind the people are here".

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Husbandry, Gardening, Mechanics, DIY, Cooking, Preserving, Artistic Talents, etc... all are helpful.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Accommodation will be a clean private room in a shared home with shared bathroom, kitchen, and common areas.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    The Wifi is reliable 99% of time

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    50 Amp hookup for campers and motorhomes available

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Pets accepted on a case by case basis. Must get along with other animals, including chickens

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicación: (5.0)







Número de referencia de anfitrión: 641735498185