Hybrid Natural Building project, off grid, BC Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

78 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/01/2022

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    543

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 17 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are building a cob and cordwood (cobwood) building we are referring to as The Witch and Wizard Hut. It will have a reciprocal roof and a log timber frame. The back half of this structure will be set into the hillside and will be made of ramed earth Tire construction. The foundation where it is not tires will be made of stone and concrete on top of a Rubble Trench Foundation.

    We just finished working on the root cellar that will be under the house and access form the kitchen. The roof with be a living roof.... we are pretty excited!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    -Total off grid living
    -learn ways to be self sustainable
    -learn how to construct your own low cost home
    -learn how to build in an eco-friendly and low impact way
    -spend some time in the mountains and drink fresh creek water
    -learn about laying hen care
    -learn how to improvise with what you have
    -Learn about our unique community culture and heritage
    -Located on unseeded St'at'imc territory.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Right now we are planning our spring and summer guest list for 2022!

    We are accepting people from out of country as long as there has been a two week isolation period because of the whole covid thing. But if you are just coming from within the country we would just like to have our guests do a 10 day self isolation where we will still work together outside and practice social distancing but just not be hanging out inside together until the 10 days are up. We have a lovely little pallet bungalow with your name on it for you to take some personal space and do some writing or reading or whatever it is you would like to get up to in your leisure time. And there are lots of good forest walks from our place!

    We so look forward to meeting you!

    ,.............. What we are up to ............

    We are building a circular cob and cordwood building with a reciprocal roof!
    We have researched a lot so far but have no hands on experience. If you have experience with cob, cordwood or timber framing building you would be handy to have around. If you have experience with building foundations and drainage this would also be nice. That being said we are looking for people who are willing to learn along side us in this venture so if you want to come and stay and have no experience in these areas that is fine! As long as you bring a good work enthusiasm and a happy heart!



    Where we are at in the project:

    July 2020

    We have finished constructing the root cellar that will be under the building! Stacked and mortered cinder blocks is the type of construction. With a log frame on top and locally home milled boards on top. Just needs the top to be insulated!

    Update: ceiling has been insulated! We used local sheep's wool and repurposed some feed bags to tuck it all up with.


    Next stage spring, summer, fall 2000/2021:

    -insulate the top of the root cellar with local sheep's wool. DONE 👌

    -level and bring in drainage rock and gravel for rubble trench foundation. DONE 👌

    -make Rubble Trench foundation. DONE 👌:)

    -Make rammed earth tire wall and drainage for earthbermed portion of building. We will be continuing working on this spring 2022! 💪🏽

    -make stone and concrete stem wall

    -start on the log frame for roof



    Things you can learn from helping at this stage:


    .planning and preparation for rubble trench foundation. This type of foundation uses a fraction of the cement of a ordinary foundation thus lowering the carbon foot print of your home and utilizing local materials.

    . Stone masonry basics while constructing stem wall

    .planning drainage for earth sheltered buildings

    . Planning utilities in eco structure

    .sorting, peeling, organizing logs for the timber frame.

    . basic timber frame, farmer style

    .rammed earth tire wall construction

    .

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Very interested in different languages and translation differences. Its fun to see differences and similarities.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Your very own private bungalow made from recycled pallets! Has a propane cook stove. Shared outdoor hot water shower (rustic). We eat a diet of yummy vegetarian meals with farm fresh eggs :)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are looking for people who line up with what we are all about, seeing as we will be spending time together while we are working this would make for a better experience for everyone evolved.

    The things we are all about:

    -equality for all people/races/gender/sexual preference
    -fair and kind treatment for all animals and bugs (exceptions are made for mosquitoes.... I know I am a terrible person)
    -looking after our environment
    -treating each other with respect
    -keeping and open mind to new ideas
    -we are strict vegetarians/mostly Vegan but you may have animals products at the bungalow
    -no alcohol at our place, but we are 4:20 friendly

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have some room for a small camper but we could figure something out for a bigger one ;)

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Our pets have some complications but with patience and guidance we can accomodate other animals in most situations. We have a fixed female white lab named Sally who is insecure around new dogs and will need some help getting used to them (unless its a boy dog who isn't fixed, then she is all flirty lol) We also have a medium sized, fixed female cat who will tolerate dogs if they dont chase her and will avoid other cats for the most part by any means necessary. We also have free range chickens so any animals must be chicken safe.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Minimum 4 hours a day, 5 days a week




Número de referencia de anfitrión: 641353969811