Turn a wild oasis into a permaculture paradise in Languedoc Roussillon, France



127 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    I'm from Germany and now I'm living in France for the past 10 Years. With the urge to leave a good footprint on this planet and make the world a bit nicer within my possibilitys. I am still working on the creation of paradise, and I do accept with a smile that this is going to take all the years to come. And that it is going to be a lot of work.

    After all these years and some hard times I got a lot from it: I never felt younger at heart and in mind, I met amazing people. And the most important I could learn, is that there is a lot in this world going wrong that I can't change. But there is a lot I am able to change. And this made me a luckier person!

    I own 4 old stone houses that I rent out for holidays, and there is some land to be taken care of. So there is always something to do, depending on the time of the year and the skills you can offer! I'm always happy to have some nice people around, like the exchange and a good atmosphere, a dinner with a good conversation and a glas of red vine, bien sûr!

    I can show and teach you a good amount of technical and semi-pro DIY stuff, if you are interested. The best way of learning is by doing ;-). And I love to learn from others, so if you have something to share....

    The land is a 3000m² terrain which is in the state of a "wild paradise oasis" with some gardening areas, which I am going to transform little by little towards an even nicer paradise, mainly by rainwater-collection and storage to fight against the climate-changes which led to a serious water-problem in my area. I'm getting deeper and deeper in the understanding of permacultural ideas, for now I have a rather "technical approach", concerning the water situation. I would love the exchange with people having experience in this field, especially concerning plant-combinations and general permaculture-design, since my knowlege in this field is still rather limited (but growing).

    After some experience with HelpX and workaway I'd like you to consider your expectations and your desire to invest yourself into my project before writing a message to me: I will always do my very best on the accomodation and food part-of-the deal, I'll fullfill special dietary needs (within my budget) and give you a nice home in one of my holiday houses. In return I expect these houses to be respected and kept clean and tidy. If there is more than one I like to have a nice athmosphere, where everyone takes equal part in these chores, including organising the kitchen and cooking. And even I'll not live in the same house, this is going to be the place for having breakfast, lunch and dinner. I'll take my part in the team for cooking etc., but I will not always do the cooking. If you do not like to cook, this is completely fine if there are some others that like doing it (including me :-)).

    For the work-side-of-things I always loved teamwork and a getting-things-done mentality, I always try to make it a good mix of interesting stuff where you can learn something or be creative... and the things that just need to get done. There is always going to be the time for a chat or a tea/coffee break. On the other hand I do get upset if there is suddenly more breaktime than everything else, since I'll feel direspected for my approach to make everything on my side as correct and nice for you as possible. Including showing you around in my area, lending you a bike and invite you for a café on the weekly trip to a typical french markt!

    ...If you've been reading to this point, and consider all the points I make reasonable, and within what you consider normal for yourself: Please write!!! And see you soon in my nice little village in between mountains and the sea!

    PS: Other than in rare cases I cannot accept stays of only a few days or a week, so I made the minimun 2 weeks. I do prefer longer stays of 3 weeks a least, since this a good time to know each other better, find a nice workflow and for You to get something out of the time in the area for yourself. but two weeks are also fine if you can't stay longer!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Ayuda doméstica
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    You'll get to know my small village and the nice people here, and the amazing nature around! If you are up for exploring the areas and towns around, you'll find a lot to discover! Nice smaller towns are Thuir and Ceret, the next bigger town is Perpignan in 25km distance.

  • Ayuda


    Depending on the time of the year, some renovation, woodworking and gardening. Sometimes bigger projects. July/August I'm completely booked, so no place to accomodate anyone in this time.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    Your accmodation will be in one of the houses, you'll get your own room. The cooking and eating is usually done together.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    To explore the area there is a bus system for only one euro per trip, and you can take it towards the sea, in the mountains and even towards the Spanish border or Andorra. The Bus stop is in the neighbouring village, but it is not far away. You can take a bike, hitchhike or I'll give you a lift!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    6 hours a day, 4 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 638582961356