Come and help around our happy little homestead along the Yukon River, Canada

Country

Canadá

140 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    16  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hi there!

    We are back online with Workaway after a winter hibernation and looking forward to meeting some amazing people this summer! As you'll see from my ratings, my response rate isn't great - but I'm trying to get better! However, if you look at the ratings from travellers we've hosted, I'm sure you'll be very reassured that we're good folks and enjoy having people stay with us.

    So first of all - a bit about us. I have 5 children ranging in age from 10-18. We live 25 minutes north of Whitehorse right along the Yukon River on 6.5 hectares of beautiful land where we raise chickens, ducks and pigs, occasional goats and hopefully the arrival of a horse shortly.

    We have space for 1 or 2 people to come stay with us anytime between May 1st until the end of September. You can stay 1 week or 1 month or maybe even longer if it works out! I have to say that almost everyone who has stayed with us has extended their visit by at least a few weeks ....which we love!

    You will be provided with your own comfortable private cabin which has power, limited wifi, a 2 burner propane stove, a mini-fridge, portable water in large jugs and an outhouse. The cabin is set up for cooking and you will look after providing your own groceries and preparing most of your own meals. We have realised over the years that our schedule just isn't set up to provide regular meals to our volunteers so instead we eat separately and to make up for that have reduced the number of hours we ask for help each week. There will still definitely be times where we'll share the odd meal together over at our place - usually around the fire roasting smokies.

    You will have access to recreational equipment while you are here - canoes, kayaks and bikes. We will also provide rides into town at least twice a week so you can explore Whitehorse and go shopping.

    In return we ask for your help each weekday for 3 hours/day. The jobs change depending on the season and projects coming up. Spring and summer 2022 will definitely have a focus on building as we need to get a few outbuildings prepared and put some work into our existing fencing. Depending on your skills and interests, other jobs could include helping to prepare food, property maintenance (painting, etc) and assisting with farm animal chores. We are flexible around timing and will chat with you about what works best with the other things you want to do while you are here.

    We are an easy going but very busy on-the-go family. There is always lots going on here, from homeschooling, chores, competitive sports and activities, caring for livestock and of course finding time to have fun and go on adventures. There is rarely a dull moment and though we wouldn't trade it, having an extra hand helping out just makes things that much better!

    You would fit in well with us if you find yourself to be adaptable, hard working and enjoy trying new things. You should be comfortable working independently as you may be the only helper onsite and be someone who takes initiative. And of course enjoying the outdoors, exploring new places and playing the odd board game or jumping on the trampoline with a crew of awesome kids will help too!

    Well, that is all for now! Please pass along any questions you may have.

    We look forward to meeting you!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    If you haven't experienced the Yukon, you will be in for a treat! In the summer, the Yukon River becomes so inviting and accessible for boating, fishing and swimming and is right next to our property. There are hiking and biking trails all around and different lakes, rivers and mountains to explore. We encourage you to make the most of this beautiful area full of culture, wilderness and interesting people. You don't have to be an outdoor enthusiast to enjoy the Yukon or staying out of town at our property - this area is so culturally diverse with such a rich and interesting history. There are museums, art centers, festivals and events available for you to enjoy all through out the year. We will happily include you on our family day trips and will point you in the right direction for whatever type of adventure you are looking to find! We hope to get to share our love for the Yukon with you!

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We always have a lot going on and are pretty happy to get help in many different forms. Top of the list is always helping with the animals - feeding them and mucking out their sheds and sort of the same thing for our family too ....preparing dinners during the weekdays and cleaning up the kitchen and living space. If you are handy, there are always projects to be done - especially for this coming season we have lots of things we want to build. You will be responsible for purchasing your own food and preparing your meals in your cabin. We are just too busy to commit to regular meals but will definitely find time for some shared dinners while you are here.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will have a private cabin that has a bunk-bed, couch, dinner table, propane heat, bar fridge, power, 2 burner propane cook stove and limited access to wifi. Water is brought into the cabin in 5 gallon jugs and drained down the sink into an outside waste bucket. There is an outhouse for your use just outback of the cabin and you are welcome to shower in the main house.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We have a vehicle available for your occasional use.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have had volunteers in the past work while they stayed with us and it seemed to go well. We have slower wifi than big cities and are limited to 200g/month but as long as this fits for your work, then you would be good to go!

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Yup - we've had quite a few people stay on site in their campervans. You can plug in and will have access to water and wifi from your own rig.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3 Hours / Day on Weekdays

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 635743646565