Come and help with our family run lodge business in Temagami, Canada

Country

Canadá

actualizado  

58 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    11/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    71.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 12 dias

  • paid opportunity

    El anfitrión se ofrece a pagar

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello travellers! We are Francis & Johanna, and we run an Outfitters & Lodge in Temagami, Ontario. It is a small, family-run lodge nestled on quiet James Lake. We attract guests from all over the world for meaningful wilderness adventures, with a focus on canoeing & hiking.

    We have one housekeeping job available! Help delight our guests with charming, cozy and clean accommodations – and spend the rest of your time soaking up fresh air and sunshine in Temagami’s famous forests! Seeking someone from the end of June to the beginning of September.

    Our lodge has five private, ensuite guestrooms with a total of 10 beds between them; two rooms have kitchenette facilities. There are also two dorm rooms with adjoining bathrooms. For more details, please get in touch! :-)

    Tasks include:

    Dust furniture
    Vacuum and mop floors
    Remove dirty linens
    Make beds
    Clean bathrooms
    Distribute clean towels and toiletries
    Stock linen closets and other supply areas
    Pick up debris and empty trash containers
    Answer guest questions/direct them to appropriate staff person


    To thrive in this role, you need:

    Attention to detail
    Organizational skills
    Efficient time management
    Ability to work quickly while maintaining high standards of cleanliness
    Ability to work alone or as part of a team
    Good interpersonal & customer service skills
    Prior experience strongly preferred

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Hostelería/turismo

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Workawayers live together and share meals with the family in the main lodge. Our food is unforgettable! We forage for wild edibles, make our own bread, host canoe courses, guide hikes, and more. This is a nurturing and fun environment -- a great place to make friends, connect with the earth, and improve your English skills. Workawayers are welcome to borrow canoes to explore the area, and we can recommend lots of good day hikes.

    Temagami is a majestic wilderness of ancient pine forests, lakes, rivers and streams. We have the largest stand of old growth red & white pines in the world, and a fascinating cultural history to go with them. To be in Temagami is to learn about the history of Northern Canada. We have an extensive library featuring many books about Canadian history, culture, nature and wilderness skills.

    With regards to skills, cooking is a big part of what we do, and we love sharing our knowledge of local foods and cooking techniques. Francis is a skilled jack-of-all trades who has lots to share regarding facility management and construction. We can also teach you some canoeing skills if you like!

  • El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    El anfitrión ofrece una paga acorde al salario mínimo

    Este anfitrión ofrece alojamiento y paga.

    El anfitrión ha indicado que pagará al menos el salario mínimo por hora de su país por cada hora trabajada y que también ofrecerá alojamiento. Pide ayuda con un negocio o una actividad empresarial. Ponte en contacto directamente con el anfitrión mediante la mensajería de la página para obtener más información y detalles sobre el salario ofrecido. Cualquier acuerdo con el anfitrión debe cerrarse por anticipado.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Outfitting help might include greeting customers, washing and putting away canoes, tying canoes to customer vehicles, packing gear for canoe trips. Housekeeping includes changing over guest rooms and helping clean common areas. Kitchen help includes prep work, serving, and clean up, and could include baking or cooking your skills and interest allow. Previous skills in any of these areas is an asset, as is a valid driver’s license.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio
    Alemán: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Workawayers stay in an apartment above our workshop. There are three bedrooms (7 beds in total), a living room, and a bathroom (sink, toilet, shower). Since there is no kitchen, Workawayers eat in the family kitchen/dining room in the lodge. Everything is available to eat unless otherwise mentioned, and we're happy to provide foods that you prefer as part of our regular shopping. Usually we all eat breakfast and lunch separately and come together for a group dinner at the end of the day.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We've hosted helpers for almost 15 years, and it's been amazing! We enjoy meeting new people and learning different ways of doing things (we'll probably learn as much from you as you will from us). We love good conversation, good humour, and good food. We have two cuddly dogs who make us laugh every day!

    Most people choose to stay for about three weeks while they're traveling, and that seems to be a good length of time - although a few people have stayed long enough that they feel like family :) We appreciate common sense and a willingness to get involved in whatever needs doing at the moment. Wi-fi is available but somewhat limited - surfing the internet and emailing is okay, but no video streaming please! If you need a tv fix, we can plan a movie night! We've also got an extensive library where you might find your next favourite book.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    4-8 hrs per day, 5 days per week.


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 633481164471