Come connect with nature, grow food and nourish your spirit in Nova Scotia, Canada

Country

Canadá

91 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/06/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Kirsten and Shawn, two years ago, became the stewards of 50 acres of land 20 min from Truro Nova Scotia to begin their dream of creating a vegetable market garden while giving back to the land. Kirsten grew up in British Columbia and has spent the past five years calling Nova Scotia her home. She is a registered message therapist and has her practice in Truro. Shawn grew up around the Halifax area and has spent many years living away from home deepening his connection to spirit so he can help others on their healing path.

    We have both travelled quite a bit and have spent time working with various workaway projects. We are looking forward to begin this new chapter in life caring for this land here in Nova Scotia. This year we will be preparing the land for our 2 acre garden, putting up deer fencing, making a herbal personal product line, raising and butchering chickens, tending the garden and selling vegetables. And if we get that all done there is always lots of cleaning up around the property to do thinning trees, clearing paths etc.

    We have two large dogs Makia, and Doksha who enjoy running free and sniffing out adventure. Here on the farm we have 9 ponds and one big spring fed swimming hole, with lots of trout to feed. There are trails that go for miles and miles, forest on all sides of our property with lots of wild life. We have made this chapter of our life free from drugs and alcohol and follow the red road. We have a great sweat lodge community close by that we attend regulary, we also are honoured to have a sweat lodge on the farm that our teachers can come and offer ceremony here. So saying this we want to be clear there will be no substance abuse or recreational use of drugs, alcohol or marijuana on this land, and we thank you for respecting that.

    We are full of gratitude to be a able to care for this land and give back in whatever way we can. Life is an amazing gift and we do our best to keep this in our hearts each day. Attitude for Gratitude!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos artísticos
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda con ordenadores/Internet

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Shawn and Kirsten have both spent a lot of time travelling, and love to be able to support that energy in a positive way. We will share any knowledge we can on the things we are learning such as bio intensive farming, herbology, massage therapy, other Amazonian healing modalities and our spiritual practice. Kirsten has a good working knowledge of Spanish, and Shawn can also understand Spanish fairly well.

    Please Note: We have an absolute zero tolerance policy for drugs and alcohol, and recreational cannibis use. We ask that you respect this, during your stay with us, and thank you for doing so.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    This fall we will be continuing to lay the groundwork for our 2.5 acre mixed vegetable garden , we will be installing a deer/animal fence, putting up a greenhouse, prepping garden beds and installing irrigation. We are also getting laying hens so will need help caring for them.

    As the months get colder we will need help with
    - Putting up a 30/72 ft greenhouse, this should go up pretty quickly with the right help
    - Putting up fence wire we have a large deer population around our property that we need to keep out.
    - chicken and duck help
    - help harvesting pine and spruce this fall/ winter for making essential oils.We will also need help prepping herbal medicine, making salves, and personal care products none of the help provided for these will be sold to the public.
    - we will be building a large place to gather before the ground freezes and we want to have the roof up, and could really use help with that. We put a photo of what we are dreaming of below. Reciprocal roof.
    - installing irrigation
    - cleaning around the property
    - Meal prep,
    - building garden beds from the ground up
    - stacking wood

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Stay in our home with us in your own room. Also we have a separate bachelor suite that could be your space however it is also a shared space so the will have to be taken into consideration if choosing to stay there.

    We could accommodate up to 2 people at a time.

    This is a safe space for all people to come and help out, we value open and honest communication, and people that come with respect, a good work effort, and an open mind.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your time off you can explore Truro’s Victoria Park, go view or raft the Tidal Bore, go mud sliding, check out the Truro Farmers market, go to Halifax and walk along the waterfront (Kirsten drives to the city every 2 weeks and into Truro almost daily) check out some live music in Truro. Swim in the pond lay, in a hammock or explore the property.

    We would like to have a one week minimum stay but would prefer longer so we can all get into a good flow together.

    We are early risers, and eat meat here, and do our best to get free range and local. Kirsten works in town so you will mostly be working with Shawn. We expect people to be respectful, and able to take direction well. We also know that we have a lot to learn so if you have an area of expertise we would love it if you shared with us that knowledge too.

    Thank you for reading our profile we look forward to connecting with you and are so grateful for your help.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We can accommodate any size camping vehicle

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes, must get along with our 2 dogs, and not kill chickens

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Número de referencia de anfitrión: 629862562855