Come explore the remote Isle of Mull, Scotland and help me give the house and surroundings a new lease of life

Country

Gran Bretaña

212 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    12  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    03/09/2019

  • Medallas

    Super Host
Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    This house on the beautiful Isle of Mull has been used for almost 30 years as an outdoor centre for youths. The charitable trust does great work for young people throughout the UK and here on Mull the residential provides an opportunity for each young person to learn about themselves and their capabilities through a challenging experience away from their everyday environments.

    I look after the house on behalf of the charity as they are only out on the island for some weeks of the year and I stay in the cottage behind. The house is also occasionally used as a space for yoga and arts retreats as I am a keen student and teacher. During the quiet time I am looking for some help to do the house up and make it an accommodating space for children and adults coming on retreat.

    The house is very remote and is ideal for anyone wishing to experience quiet island life and explore the outdoors in an untouched part of Scotland. The MacCulloch's fossil tree is within walking distance, as is The Burg where there are remains of old settlements from before the clearances. There are also a lovely hill walk and walks along the shore as we are situated at the western tip of the Ardmeanach Peninsula.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Cocinar / compras
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda de caridad
    Projecto artístico

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In the time that you are not helping me out you will have time to explore this amazing area that is usually very difficult to get to as cars are not able to get down our track. I can collect you in the 4x4 and also take you away again when you are ready to leave us. Bear in mind that we are extremely remote! On days off I could either take you to Tobermory, village in the north of the Island or drop you at a bus stop if you wish to explore other areas such as the island of Iona.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I particularly need those interested in woodwork, painting and decorating or general DIY depending on what I am working on at the time. There will always be plenty of painting to be done! Also those who would like some physical work could help me maintain the track to the house. I may also welcome ideas from artists who feel they could contribute something to the aesthetic of the house. Mostly I want to clean up the house and clear out all the old and unwanted clutter that has built up over the years!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You will stay in the house during your stay and there are plenty of double or dorms if you are travelling with others. The house is rather old and quite basic but will be warm and there is a lovely open fire in the lounge. Wifi is available but can be quite slow! We will provide all your meals as there in nowhere to buy food, depending on how busy I am or how many volunteers are here I may need some help with food prep.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Ferries operate from Oban and you can look at timetables through the Calmac website. Buses operate from Craignure and you are able to view bus times from West Coast Motors. If you are able to catch the bus from Craignure - Fionnphort I am able to collect you from the bus stop at the Kinloch. Otherwise if the bus doesn't suit with your time of arrival I can pick you up from Craignure.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week








Número de referencia de anfitrión: 586512324266