Farming and other country tasks with local people in a remote mountain forest area in Mapuche region, Chile

  • Chile
  • 186 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 09/01/2023

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2023 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    The local host family iscomposed of a country couple in their 60's, Tello and Edith. They have lived in the area all their lives and do their living mostly with their animals (cows, sheep, chickens, turkeys), forest managing and some arts & crafts (wool and leather crafts).

    Our area is in the mountains of the Araucanía Region, in the Curarrehue county. We live in a Mapuche area, where original traditions struggle to remain alive. It gets pretty snowy in winter, with temperatures down to -11º Celsius. In summer temperate climate is warm and fine. The place has beautiful sceneries but is pretty distant from civilization. We are surrounded mostly by forest. The area has almost no tourism.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda doméstica
    Cuidado de animales
    Hostelería/turismo
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tello and Edith only speak spanish and Tello some Mapuzungun (the native tongue). Don't think of them as a live native culture because you won't find that. You will find in Tello and Edith two local people, who are half blood between mapuche and European immigrants, and that know the ways of the country and have lived all of their lives here. They can tell you some very interesting myths and legends for example(if you can understand some spanish).
    You could learn to milk cows, work with wood, with leather, with animals in general, about horses, medicinal plants, working with oxen. With Edith you can learn vegetable gardening and wool work (weaving, spinning, knitting with looms) Anyway, they are really lovely people and excellent hosts.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Tello and Edith usually need help working with the oxen, the animals (which sometimes involves riding by horse to the mountain to go look for the cows), getting the sheep/goats in and out of their paddock every morning/afternoon, or building wooden frame structures, like barns. Also, specially on spring/summer, there is a lot of work to do at the vegetable garden and greenhouse.
    They also will need help building fences, milking cows (in summer), making firewood and logging (chainsaw).

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    There is the possibility to sleep on a room at Tello and Edith's house. There is also the possibility to sleep on a tent (we might lend you one, depending on availability) There is also an additional cabin available for people with needs for privacy, but it is usually rented so it probably won't be available or could have a cost.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are plenty of beautiful trails in the surroundings, you could climb the volcano or visit forest lagoons, but expect a 30 min. walk then a 2 to 3 hour bus trip to Pucón which is the closest thing you will find to a city.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    we have plenty of space

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 576129912622

Comentarios (1)


Comentarios



Help us provide a tourism experience for our guests in Diaguitas, Chile
Help us to create an eco-friendly campsite in San Pedro de Atacama, Chile