actualizado  

Help transform our homestead in Voditsa, Bulgaria

  • 6 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 15 jun 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Come help us turn our old world homestead into an artists retreat!

    We’re offering a simple living getaway in a small village in Bulgaria.

    Looking for the helping hands of some dreamers and doers eager to travel back in time and explore what’s possible with a bit of imagination and effort.

    Long time workawayers and global travelers ourselves, we are Rhonda and Ryan, an American couple. I’m from Florida and he’s from Montana.

    We have lived in well over a dozen countries and traveled in many more.

    Happy to be first time hosts and pay it forward! Will do our best to make your stay fun, gratifying and interesting.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Construcción y bricolaje
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cultural opportunities:
    Our village currently has under 400 residents but it’s heyday during communism, it had 10 times that many so there’s actually a community building with a library and a small ethnographic museum. On occasion festivals are held in the Village Square and traditional dancing takes place outfront. An excursion to Popovo on Fridays, about half an hour by bus, can be fun as it is their market day. Local vendors set up stalls featuring items both new and used. And there’s also a covered outdoor farmers market where they sell some plants, assorted produce, meats and cheeses. The shops around the edges can be very interesting to someone who has not visited Eastern Europe. They give a considerable insight into daily lives by the wares that they sell. The town features a nice promenade area with cafés where locals and families like to relax and stroll. There’s not much nightlife but there is a little bit and a return taxi to the village runs around $11 USD. We can direct you to a few restaurants in town that prepare local specialties at reasonable prices and also feature some great old world atmosphere. If you’re interested, let me know and on your time off, we can see if any neighbors will let us onto their property to see how they live. Some have even offered to teach me some homesteading skills like pickling and canning. The little bus that runs back-and-forth to Popovo daily, doesn’t just go down the main road, but leads through other nearby villages, giving a very off the beaten path opportunity to look around. Bulgaria is a bit more shabby than chic, but we love it and hope you will too. They have not yet runoff all the birds and the bees nor succumbed to manicured lawns. The nature is raw and the air is sweet. Things are changing fast, but it truly still is an opportunity to travel back in time and as we put it, live big on little.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Summer 2024 initial projects
    (Volunteers are expected to help 4-5 hrs a day, 5 days a wk)

    * some basic household cleaning help
    * a few rooms and interior ceilings needing to be painted
    * a bit of help laying down rugs and possibly hanging new curtains
    * neglected flower garden needing some love
    * exterior metal gate needing to be sanded a bit then painted
    * tidying dead branches and a bit of overgrowth from around fruit trees
    * someone may have ideas for refurbishing a bench in front of our property where an old man likes to sit in the summer and tend his chickens- the base is sound and secure just needs a new top
    * once the basics are done dreams of murals and mosaics if there’s interest

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Bulgarian: Principiante
    Francés: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Very keen to improve our Bulgarian.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Volunteers will have the second floor for sleeping and hanging out. One bedroom has a double bed and the other has twins. The view is over our vineyard that shades the outdoor patio where I do most of the cooking and where it’s possible to sit and have meals. It also looks across the valley. The front windows look over the lane where you may occasionally see a shepherd pass with a herd of cows, sheep or goats. There’s even the occasional horse cart that happens by. It’s not all old world. We do have Wi-Fi :)

    It may be a bit cool at night in spring. There’s no heating upstairs but plenty of blankets.

    The shared bathroom is accessible by an outdoor staircase and is a simple wet room w/ a handheld shower and a toilet that you flush with a bucket. Water is heated on an as needed basis so it’s necessary to allow half an hour or so to warm up.

    Breakfast will be on your own. I’ll provide basics like eggs, bread, instant coffee, teas. If you’re an early riser we can walk into the village together for an espresso at the little everything store. It’s about a half mile easy walk that we usually make multiple times a day. I’ll make us one meal a day. I’m a fairly decent cook. Love it but a little out of practice. I rarely use a recipe guided more by what’s available and in season. The main meal will be served for lunch or dinner depending on what’s going on. I’ll have a few other groceries on hand that you will be welcome to. Please expect to wash your own dishes and feed yourself on days off. If you want additional items there are 3 small shops in the village and more choices in the nearby town of Popovo (accessible by bus on weekdays)

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 569879713191

Fotos

Comentarios

Outgoing people welcome to help in a hut in the Rila mountain, Bulgaria
Be at home in nature, become a part of our integral eco-community in Zhelen, Bulgaria